I apologize in advance for the basic question but I'm a new DM (or trying to be) and I'm a little uncertain as to exactly how much a player can do on their turn in terms of "1 interaction". For example, it is my understanding a player can draw a weapon and attack on the same turn. Here are 2 scenarios I'm unclear about.
I have a Bard who is using 2 short swords
- can she sheath one weapon and cast a spell requiring S in the same action?
- can she sheath one weapon, grab her lute, and cast a spell requiring S and M in the same action?
What I would say? No, I require a free hand to cast any spell with a Material Component (although having the material component in a hand would work as well), the Scomatic Component depends. For instance, person can reasonably hold a Two-Handed weapon, or two weapons, for a few seconds with one hand; but sheathing the weapon, drawing a Material Component, casting the Spell, possibly putting the Material Component away, and redrawing the weapon is a bit much for a leeway.
You can draw one weapon OR sheath one weapon as a free action every round. If you have 2 weapons already in your hand and you did not draw one this round, then you can sheath one weapon and cast a spell.
I think the lute counts as a weapon. At least the way I play it does ;D
Therefore you can not sheath one weapon and grab her lute in the same round.
Yes to the first, as it is similar to the drawing of a weapon as part of the attack... players are usually allowed one free action a turn... such as opening an unlocked door as part of their movement when going from room to room, if a second door is encountered then they would have to use their action or wait until next turn to open it and go through.
No to the second, as it requires 2 free actions, sheathing the weapon and then drawing the lute... although most DMs I've played with would allow the player to drop the weapon without using their free action so that they could then use it to draw the lute... making scenario 2 possible in a way (except for the weapon being on the ground at their feet instead of sheathed).
I can see that, but then does picking up the weapon count as a free action or would that take a full action? It seems like it should take a full action...otherwise essentially scenario 2 is possible which when I think about it more does seem like a bit much :)
I apologize in advance for the basic question but I'm a new DM (or trying to be) and I'm a little uncertain as to exactly how much a player can do on their turn in terms of "1 interaction". For example, it is my understanding a player can draw a weapon and attack on the same turn. Here are 2 scenarios I'm unclear about.
I have a Bard who is using 2 short swords
- can she sheath one weapon and cast a spell requiring S in the same action?
- can she sheath one weapon, grab her lute, and cast a spell requiring S and M in the same action?
Thank you!!!
That is up to the DM.
What I would say? No, I require a free hand to cast any spell with a Material Component (although having the material component in a hand would work as well), the Scomatic Component depends. For instance, person can reasonably hold a Two-Handed weapon, or two weapons, for a few seconds with one hand; but sheathing the weapon, drawing a Material Component, casting the Spell, possibly putting the Material Component away, and redrawing the weapon is a bit much for a leeway.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/spellcasting#Components
Here's the Component part of the rules.
You can draw one weapon OR sheath one weapon as a free action every round. If you have 2 weapons already in your hand and you did not draw one this round, then you can sheath one weapon and cast a spell.
I think the lute counts as a weapon. At least the way I play it does ;D
Therefore you can not sheath one weapon and grab her lute in the same round.
Thanks! So, just to make sure I understand, yes to the first scenario and no to the second?
Really appreciate the feedback!
Yes. Unless your DM house rules. Also keep in mind the Verbal only spells, here are a few of my favorites:
Cantrip: Vicious Mockery
All Verbal Only spells you can cast with both hands tied behind your back, and that's the way you like it! But don't consent to a gag.
awesome :)
I can see that, but then does picking up the weapon count as a free action or would that take a full action? It seems like it should take a full action...otherwise essentially scenario 2 is possible which when I think about it more does seem like a bit much :)
No, it's not possible. You can sheath the sword and grab the lute, but you can't cast a spell unless the spell has a casting time of a bonus action.
There is no dawn after eternal night.
Homebrew: Magic items, Subclasses