In my group we were faced with a general question regarding the transformation of a druid into animal form. When transforming, the clothes etc. change and change back with the druid. What happens, for example, if the druid holds an object in his hand that is to be stolen and transforms into animal form with it? Does the item then transform with him? Is it possible to steal such an item? I haven't found anything suitable in the rules and I'm still quite young as a DM. I hope you can help me with some tips.
According to the rules in the PHB, p. 64, under the Wild Shape paragraph:
While you are transformed, the following rules apply:
[...]
You choose whether your equipment falls to the ground in your space, merges into your new form, or is worn by it. Worn equipment functions as normal, but the DM decides whether it is practical for the new form to wear a piece of equipment, based on the creature's shape and size. Your equipment doesn't change size or shape to match the new form, and any equipment that the new form can't wear must either fall to the ground or merge with it. Equipment that merges with the form has no effect until you leave the form.
So in the described situation, it's up to the Druid whether or not to merge that object into the new form.
Thanks for the help. So a random thing like a framed picture etc. functions in that situation as equipment? I always thought that there is a difference between equioment such as armor, weapons etc. and common items that you just pick up somewhere and carry in your hands.
Thanks for the help. So a random thing like a framed picture etc. functions in that situation as equipment? I always thought that there is a difference between equioment such as armor, weapons etc. and common items that you just pick up somewhere and carry in your hands.
Equipment includes not only weapons and armor, but also your gear, starting equipment packs, kits, tools, gold pieces, trinkets, and so on.
Generally, the items you are carrying at that moment can be merged into the new form, if you decide to do so!
In my group we were faced with a general question regarding the transformation of a druid into animal form. When transforming, the clothes etc. change and change back with the druid. What happens, for example, if the druid holds an object in his hand that is to be stolen and transforms into animal form with it? Does the item then transform with him? Is it possible to steal such an item? I haven't found anything suitable in the rules and I'm still quite young as a DM. I hope you can help me with some tips.
Thanks :)
According to the rules in the PHB, p. 64, under the Wild Shape paragraph:
So in the described situation, it's up to the Druid whether or not to merge that object into the new form.
Thanks for the help. So a random thing like a framed picture etc. functions in that situation as equipment? I always thought that there is a difference between equioment such as armor, weapons etc. and common items that you just pick up somewhere and carry in your hands.
Equipment includes not only weapons and armor, but also your gear, starting equipment packs, kits, tools, gold pieces, trinkets, and so on.
Generally, the items you are carrying at that moment can be merged into the new form, if you decide to do so!
Awesome, thank you :) Helps a lot.