This site works best with JavaScript enabled. Please enable JavaScript to get the best experience from this site.
My Characters
My Campaigns
My Encounters
My Homebrew Collection
My Homebrew Creations
My Dice
Homebrew
Classes
Backgrounds
Species
Feats
Spells
Equipment
Magic Items
Monsters
Character Builder
Sigil 3D VTT
Maps VTT
Encounters
Mobile App
Avrae Discord Bot
Community Update
Twitch
Youtube
Changelog
Just trying to work out the Mechanics. So if you where 5 level and had both booming Blade and Hex Spell, does the Hex hit 3 times here?
1-You hit opponent with sword and booming blade, 1d8 is added for booming blade and 1d6 is added for Hex
2-They move, taking a further 2d8 from booming blade + 1d6 for hex? and gives an AoO
3-You hit them again (can't use booming blade again for AoO) but you still get the 1d6 for Hex right?
So that can be 3 Hex in 1 turn?
Looking at the Hex Spell this line is key I feel
" Until the spell ends, you deal an extra 1d6 necrotic damage to the target whenever you hit it with an attack "
Technically you only hit it with an attack twice (original hit with Booming Blade & AoO) so I would rule (in my game) that Hex is only applied twice
Thanks, yes that makes sense as the 'move' damage did not require an attack roll.
If you roll a d20 to determinate if your attack hits, you can apply Hex.
Bhuraelea/Swashbuckler Gnoll/Druid Leo/Barbarian Nadariel/Druid DM/LMoP+DoIP
Attack: [roll]3d20dl2+6[/roll] Damage: [roll](if([roll:-1:critical], =0, 1d8, 2{1d8}.expand()))+4[/roll] Sneakattack: [roll](if([roll:-2:critical], =0, 2d6, 2{2d6}.expand()))[/roll]
Note, if you have the Warcaster feat, you COULD use Booming Blade for the AoO.
That seems beside the point of this discussion about Booming Blade and Hex.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Just trying to work out the Mechanics. So if you where 5 level and had both booming Blade and Hex Spell, does the Hex hit 3 times here?
1-You hit opponent with sword and booming blade, 1d8 is added for booming blade and 1d6 is added for Hex
2-They move, taking a further 2d8 from booming blade + 1d6 for hex? and gives an AoO
3-You hit them again (can't use booming blade again for AoO) but you still get the 1d6 for Hex right?
So that can be 3 Hex in 1 turn?
Looking at the Hex Spell this line is key I feel
" Until the spell ends, you deal an extra 1d6
necrotic damage to the target whenever you hit it with an attack "
Technically you only hit it with an attack twice (original hit with Booming Blade & AoO) so I would rule (in my game) that Hex is only applied twice
Thanks, yes that makes sense as the 'move' damage did not require an attack roll.
If you roll a d20 to determinate if your attack hits, you can apply Hex.
Note, if you have the Warcaster feat, you COULD use Booming Blade for the AoO.
That seems beside the point of this discussion about Booming Blade and Hex.
"Not all those who wander are lost"