Eldritch Knights and Arcane Tricksters learn spells from the Wizard spell list, but can never cast spells above level 4 because that's the highest level spell slot they get.
A spell scroll is only usable by a character with the relevant spell on their spell list. Would a level 5+ wizard spell be considered to be on the spell list for an eldritch knight or arcane trickster?
"When you reach 3rd level, you gain the ability to cast spells. See chapter 10 for the general rules of spellcasting and chapter 11 for the wizard spell list."
Although they may never have spell slots for the higher level wizard spells, the entire wizard spell list is the spell list used for both the EK and AT. So either would be able to cast higher level wizard spell scrolls.
In addition, a level 1 wizard may only ever have 2 first level spell slots however they can try to cast any wizard spell scroll since the wizard spells are on their spell list even if they are not capable of casting it with spell slots. EK and AT (level 3 and above .. use the wizard spell list so they can try casting any wizard spell scroll). Before they reach level 3, the character is only a fighter or rogue and does not have access to a spell list yet.
Bottom line: yes, they can attempt to use the scroll.
A spell scroll bears the words of a single spell, written in a mystical cipher. If the spell is on your class’s spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without providing any material components. Otherwise, the scroll is unintelligible. Casting the spell by reading the scroll requires the spell’s normal casting time. Once the spell is cast, the words on the scroll fade, and it crumbles to dust. If the casting is interrupted, the scroll is not lost.
If the spell is on your class’s spell list but of a higher level than you can normally cast, you must make an ability check using your spellcasting ability to determine whether you cast it successfully. The DC equals 10 + the spell’s level. On a failed check, the spell disappears from the scroll with no other effect.
The level of the spell on the scroll determines the spell’s saving throw DC and attack bonus, as well as the scroll’s rarity, as shown in the Spell Scroll table.
It's just a spellcasting ability check, but absolutely possible.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Eldritch Knights and Arcane Tricksters learn spells from the Wizard spell list, but can never cast spells above level 4 because that's the highest level spell slot they get.
A spell scroll is only usable by a character with the relevant spell on their spell list. Would a level 5+ wizard spell be considered to be on the spell list for an eldritch knight or arcane trickster?
Arcane trickster says:
"When you reach 3rd level, you gain the ability to cast spells. See chapter 10 for the general rules of spellcasting and chapter 11 for the wizard spell list."
Although they may never have spell slots for the higher level wizard spells, the entire wizard spell list is the spell list used for both the EK and AT. So either would be able to cast higher level wizard spell scrolls.
In addition, a level 1 wizard may only ever have 2 first level spell slots however they can try to cast any wizard spell scroll since the wizard spells are on their spell list even if they are not capable of casting it with spell slots. EK and AT (level 3 and above .. use the wizard spell list so they can try casting any wizard spell scroll). Before they reach level 3, the character is only a fighter or rogue and does not have access to a spell list yet.
Bottom line: yes, they can attempt to use the scroll.
It's just a spellcasting ability check, but absolutely possible.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.