I want to make a encounter with a Minotaur the uses two battleaxes. Can it be done?
The PHB says you can only do it with light one handed weapons. But battleaxe's are'nt a light weapon. But I think since a minotaur is a large creature, maybe he can use them for two weapon fighting.
If you're the DM, you can do whatever you want. Giving a minotaur two battleaxe attacks (at normal battleaxe damage) instead of its one greataxe attack probably wouldn't even change the challenge rating.
As a DM, no problem, make whatever you want, your minotaur could dual wield goblins holding greatswords and chainsaws.
As a player, you'll need the Dual-wielder feat to use two weapons that aren't light if you want to stay within the rules, but your DM can override that and not require the feat, and if you don't use feats (many people don't) just ask him to allow it.
The dual-wield rules are rather limiting in 5e, it doesn't allow the most common form of dual-wielding (rapier/dagger or longsword/shortsword) without a feat, can only draw one weapon per round, and uses your bonus action, I would hope they really look at this in 6e and expand the rules.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I want to make a encounter with a Minotaur the uses two battleaxes. Can it be done?
The PHB says you can only do it with light one handed weapons. But battleaxe's are'nt a light weapon. But I think since a minotaur is a large creature, maybe he can use them for two weapon fighting.
If you're the DM, you can do whatever you want. Giving a minotaur two battleaxe attacks (at normal battleaxe damage) instead of its one greataxe attack probably wouldn't even change the challenge rating.
As a DM, no problem, make whatever you want, your minotaur could dual wield goblins holding greatswords and chainsaws.
As a player, you'll need the Dual-wielder feat to use two weapons that aren't light if you want to stay within the rules, but your DM can override that and not require the feat, and if you don't use feats (many people don't) just ask him to allow it.
The dual-wield rules are rather limiting in 5e, it doesn't allow the most common form of dual-wielding (rapier/dagger or longsword/shortsword) without a feat, can only draw one weapon per round, and uses your bonus action, I would hope they really look at this in 6e and expand the rules.