So my dm and I had a disagreement on a ruling of suggestion today. My dm is a great dm and makes fair rulings, and obviously it’s up to the dm to interpret the rules during a session. I just wanted to see what you guys think, for future reference.
So our halfling thief used an Iron Flask on a balor and caught him in it. One of the balor’s minions grabbed the flask and stunned halfling and began to fly away with them.
I wanted to make him drop them, which is perfect for the spell command, but I am a wizard and only had suggestion to use.
Since suggestion is a stronger spell and I can be more specific, I had the creature hand the thief and the flask to our barbarian. The creature failed the save, flew to the barbarian, used the flask to release the Balor, and then handed them over.
To me “it pursues the course of action you described to the best of its ability” means that the creature would fufill the request as soon as possible. At least before taking any other actions.
Otherwise, to what extent could you pursue other actions before fulfilling a suggestion.
This made the spell significantly worse than even Command in this scenario. Because Command would make him drop them and he would lose his actions altogether.
Oh I should mention that we realized later that the creature wouldn’t be able to use the flask anyway, because of the command word it didn’t know. But, would still like to know this for other suggestion rulings
So my dm and I had a disagreement on a ruling of suggestion today. My dm is a great dm and makes fair rulings, and obviously it’s up to the dm to interpret the rules during a session. I just wanted to see what you guys think, for future reference.
So our halfling thief used an Iron Flask on a balor and caught him in it. One of the balor’s minions grabbed the flask and stunned halfling and began to fly away with them.
I wanted to make him drop them, which is perfect for the spell command, but I am a wizard and only had suggestion to use.
Since suggestion is a stronger spell and I can be more specific, I had the creature hand the thief and the flask to our barbarian. The creature failed the save, flew to the barbarian, used the flask to release the Balor, and then handed them over.
To me “it pursues the course of action you described to the best of its ability” means that the creature would fufill the request as soon as possible. At least before taking any other actions.
Otherwise, to what extent could you pursue other actions before fulfilling a suggestion.
This made the spell significantly worse than even Command in this scenario. Because Command would make him drop them and he would lose his actions altogether.
Here are the Sage Advices regarding Suggestion:
https://www.sageadvice.eu/?s=suggestion+spell
Oh I should mention that we realized later that the creature wouldn’t be able to use the flask anyway, because of the command word it didn’t know. But, would still like to know this for other suggestion rulings
Also, the spell ended as soon as he handed it over; so he could immediately snatch it out of your hand again :-)
You see why I told him to give it to the level 13 barbarian ;)