Keeping in mind that the three ways to break a concentration spell are
1. Fail a concentration save for some reason.
2. Cast another concentration spell
3. being incapacitated or killed.
My question is if a spell requires concentration but the target saves and repels the spell if you are still concentration can you reuse it next turn or does the target saving cancel the spell and if this is so then why isn't it listed as a way to break concentration?
Example: Witchbolt, you fling it out the target saves next round still concentrating you try again, is this allowed?
Example 2 - Bane - You select three targets, 2 succumb and one saves does the spell continue only for the two currently affect? can you try to get the other guy again next turn. or do all three of them make fresh saves each turn?
if the answer is yes that's how it works it makes concentration spells op and more attractive. i kinda like it. but I would love an official ruling if possible.
Sorry if this has been asked before.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Yo mamma is so stupid a feeble mind spell made her smarter! Yo mamma so fat she engulfs gelatinous cubes with ease!
Witch Bolt has no saves...it is a ranged attack to start and then (if you hit) is automatic damage so long as concentration is held.
for bane, the saves are only made once. You cannot attempt to redo the spell on a creature that succeeded on the save unless you recast the spell. Concentration only extends the spell for those who failed the save
Keeping in mind that the three ways to break a concentration spell are
1. Fail a concentration save for some reason.
2. Cast another concentration spell
3. being incapacitated or killed.
My question is if a spell requires concentration but the target saves and repels the spell if you are still concentration can you reuse it next turn or does the target saving cancel the spell and if this is so then why isn't it listed as a way to break concentration?
Example: Witchbolt, you fling it out the target saves next round still concentrating you try again, is this allowed?
Example 2 - Bane - You select three targets, 2 succumb and one saves does the spell continue only for the two currently affect? can you try to get the other guy again next turn. or do all three of them make fresh saves each turn?
if the answer is yes that's how it works it makes concentration spells op and more attractive. i kinda like it. but I would love an official ruling if possible.
Sorry if this has been asked before.
Yo mamma is so stupid a feeble mind spell made her smarter! Yo mamma so fat she engulfs gelatinous cubes with ease!
Witch Bolt has no saves...it is a ranged attack to start and then (if you hit) is automatic damage so long as concentration is held.
for bane, the saves are only made once. You cannot attempt to redo the spell on a creature that succeeded on the save unless you recast the spell. Concentration only extends the spell for those who failed the save