In the new Core rules there are items that can cast upleveled spells, so I assume that's a thing. Under the new item crafting rules, crafting an item that casts spells only requires that the crafter: a) Cover the material cost, b) have the necessary skill/tool proficiencies, and c) prepare any spells for the item on each working day crafting the item.
Okay, fair enough. But what about those upleveled spells?
For instance, a 5th level Wizard with Arcana and Woodworking Tools can craft magic staves. With 3rd level spells, they can prepare the Glyph of Warding spell. If they could somehow cover the 200,000 gp material cost to craft a Legendary item, could they craft an Enspelled Staff that casts level 8 Glyphs of Warding?
Of course, the obvious DM ruling is that nobody can craft an item that casts a spell level that they can't. Perhaps a tweak for the crafting rules?
The issue here, as you get at in your last paragraph, is not being able to cast the spell. As you need to have the spell prepared for the item. If you can’t prepare a level 8 spell, so you can’t have the spell prepared. As a DM I would allow someone to craft an item that uses an upcast spell, but only if the crafter is able to cast that level of spell.
According to the crafting rules and how the Enspelled Armor/Staff/Weapon items work (e.g. for the Staff: "The spell is determined when the staff is created and can be of any school of magic"), it's necessary to cast the spell at higher levels each day to craft the magic item with a spell of that level.
For example, you could craft a Legendary Enspelled Staff by casting Call Lightning at level 8. This would take 250 days and 100000 GP.
Spells If a magic item allows its user to cast any spells from it, you must have all those spells prepared every day you spend crafting the item.
Time and Cost Crafting a magic item takes an amount of time and money based on the item’s rarity as shown in the Magic Item Crafting Time and Cost table.
Sorry, I was wrong. I didn't read the rules or the first reply in this thread carefully. Xalthu explained it well. See also this answer from another thread:
I don't know if I agree with that last part — it doesn't say that you're actually casting the spell each day when you're crafting the scroll, just that you have to have it prepared. It doesn't make any mention of using a spell slot at any point in the process, and you have to actually use a spell slot to upcast something.
True because actually expending the spell is not included in the crafting description this edition the RAW are slightly ambiguous but I would definitely go with the interpretation that you can only create items able to cast something at a level you yourself could cast at.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
In the new Core rules there are items that can cast upleveled spells, so I assume that's a thing. Under the new item crafting rules, crafting an item that casts spells only requires that the crafter: a) Cover the material cost, b) have the necessary skill/tool proficiencies, and c) prepare any spells for the item on each working day crafting the item.
Okay, fair enough. But what about those upleveled spells?
For instance, a 5th level Wizard with Arcana and Woodworking Tools can craft magic staves. With 3rd level spells, they can prepare the Glyph of Warding spell. If they could somehow cover the 200,000 gp material cost to craft a Legendary item, could they craft an Enspelled Staff that casts level 8 Glyphs of Warding?
Of course, the obvious DM ruling is that nobody can craft an item that casts a spell level that they can't. Perhaps a tweak for the crafting rules?
The issue here, as you get at in your last paragraph, is not being able to cast the spell. As you need to have the spell prepared for the item. If you can’t prepare a level 8 spell, so you can’t have the spell prepared.
As a DM I would allow someone to craft an item that uses an upcast spell, but only if the crafter is able to cast that level of spell.
(EDIT: wrong answer)
According to the crafting rules and how the Enspelled Armor/Staff/Weapon items work (e.g. for the Staff: "The spell is determined when the staff is created and can be of any school of magic"), it's necessary to cast the spell at higher levels each day to craft the magic item with a spell of that level.For example, you could craft a Legendary Enspelled Staff by casting Call Lightning at level 8. This would take 250 days and 100000 GP.Sorry, I was wrong. I didn't read the rules or the first reply in this thread carefully. Xalthu explained it well. See also this answer from another thread:
True because actually expending the spell is not included in the crafting description this edition the RAW are slightly ambiguous but I would definitely go with the interpretation that you can only create items able to cast something at a level you yourself could cast at.