Hi. Im DMing Curse of Strahd 2 sessions ago gave a bag of holding as a treasure to of of my players. Is it possible to leave Barovia by damaging the bag?
"If the bag is overloaded, pierced, or torn, it ruptures and is destroyed, and its contents are scattered in the Astral Plane"
1.If someone is inside the bag? Yes, since they are a bag content.
2. If you stick another extradimensional item inside of it? Yes, since it creates a portal for 1 round.
3. If you just stab the bag and hope for a portal? No, you just made a funky eye hole.
1 and 2 are the only ones I could think of, as a DM, that would allow someone to essentially leave Ravenloft immediately but the chances of them surviving in the astral plane? Very limited and there's a possibility that whatever dark presence made them end up in Barovia (usually the fog) could just swallow them back up again. There's a mixture of nasty (mostly nasty) and good stuff in the astral plane from the sounds of it and even then there's a chance they'd be lost forever.
It would be the call of the DM at the end of the day.
"The land of Barovia resides in its own demiplane, isolated from all other planes, including the Material Plane. No spell-not even wish-allows one to escape from Strahd's domain. Astral projection, teleport, plane shift, and similar spells cast for the purpose of leaving Barovia simply fail, as do effects that banish a creature to another plane of existence.These restrictions apply to magic items and artifacts that have properties that transport or banish creatures to other planes. Magic that allows transit to the Border Ethereal, such as the etherealness spell and the Etherealness feature of incorporeal undead, is the exception to this rule. A creature that enters the Border Ethereal from Strahd's domain is pulled back into Barovia upon leaving that plane."
It is pretty clear that ANY method of transplanar travel including access to the astral plane will fail to allow a creature to escape Barovia. They include magic items and even artifacts that have these properties. It specifically includes effects that banish a creature to another plane of existence which would include the destruction of a bag of holding.
The final decision is up to the DM but in this case it is pretty clear that accessing the astral plane by any means does not provide a method of leaving Barovia.
Hi. Im DMing Curse of Strahd 2 sessions ago gave a bag of holding as a treasure to of of my players. Is it possible to leave Barovia by damaging the bag?
"If the bag is overloaded, pierced, or torn, it ruptures and is destroyed, and its contents are scattered in the Astral Plane"
1.If someone is inside the bag? Yes, since they are a bag content.
2. If you stick another extradimensional item inside of it? Yes, since it creates a portal for 1 round.
3. If you just stab the bag and hope for a portal? No, you just made a funky eye hole.
1 and 2 are the only ones I could think of, as a DM, that would allow someone to essentially leave Ravenloft immediately but the chances of them surviving in the astral plane? Very limited and there's a possibility that whatever dark presence made them end up in Barovia (usually the fog) could just swallow them back up again. There's a mixture of nasty (mostly nasty) and good stuff in the astral plane from the sounds of it and even then there's a chance they'd be lost forever.
It would be the call of the DM at the end of the day.
No. CoS page 24 - alterations to magic
"The land of Barovia resides in its own demiplane, isolated from all other planes, including the Material Plane. No spell-not even wish-allows one to escape from Strahd's domain. Astral projection, teleport, plane shift, and similar spells cast for the purpose of leaving Barovia simply fail, as do effects that banish a creature to another plane of existence. These restrictions apply to magic items and artifacts that have properties that transport or banish creatures to other planes. Magic that allows transit to the Border Ethereal, such as the etherealness spell and the Etherealness feature of incorporeal undead, is the exception to this rule. A creature that enters the Border Ethereal from Strahd's domain is pulled back into Barovia upon leaving that plane."
It is pretty clear that ANY method of transplanar travel including access to the astral plane will fail to allow a creature to escape Barovia. They include magic items and even artifacts that have these properties. It specifically includes effects that banish a creature to another plane of existence which would include the destruction of a bag of holding.
The final decision is up to the DM but in this case it is pretty clear that accessing the astral plane by any means does not provide a method of leaving Barovia.
Ooooo thanks. I’ve forgotten about it completely