Elemental stones summon elementals as if casting the conjure elemental spell, but do the stones like the spell require a source, i.e - fire for fire, earth for earth, etc.? Or is just that stones contain the "energy" required to summon the elemental without a source?
If that’s the case, then no. An elemental is summoned as if you’d cast the spell, but you don’t actually have to cast the spell (or satisfy the spell’s requirements).
Elemental stones summon elementals as if casting the conjure elemental spell, but do the stones like the spell require a source, i.e - fire for fire, earth for earth, etc.?
Or is just that stones contain the "energy" required to summon the elemental without a source?
Thanks!
What is an elemental stone? Can you link to what you’re talking about?
I believe he is speaking of an https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/elemental-gem. A magic item that allows you to summon a specific type of elemental.
Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt
Did you mean Elemental Gems from the DMG?
I would rule they contain everything you need without any other source.
If that’s the case, then no. An elemental is summoned as if you’d cast the spell, but you don’t actually have to cast the spell (or satisfy the spell’s requirements).
Elemental gem summons an elemental. It does not cast a spell and does not follow any spellcasting rules.
Yes, I meant the elemental gem from the DMG. Apologies.
And thank you for the responses so far.