When you cast Hex on one creature and it dies, on your next turn you can transfer it to an new target as a bonus action. Is this viewed as "casting" the hex spell again on your bonus action? I ask because you cannot cast two spells in a turn... so if it is moved to a new target, you cannot use a spell on the target in that same turn?
I would argue that moving it to a new target is not "casting" it again, as it doesn't consume a spell slot. So, you should be free to move to new target as bonus, then cast a spell if you wish.
This isn’t casting, it is just an effect of the spell. Only the initial casting of a spell applies to this rule.
Also, the rule only applies to levelled spells being banned once you cast a bonus action spell. So you can Hex + Eldritch Blast on your first turn, at least.
No. Hex says “choose one ability when you cast the spell.” As established, moving the target isn’t casting.
This is something I misunderstood for so long when I was playing a warlock. Thank you for clarifying this - one way that could help is to imagine that your warlock has six different curses. "With this hex, I curse your dex. By the power of belligerence, I curse your intelligence. I invoke...uh... someone....to curse your wisdom..."
When you cast Hex on one creature and it dies, on your next turn you can transfer it to an new target as a bonus action. Is this viewed as "casting" the hex spell again on your bonus action? I ask because you cannot cast two spells in a turn... so if it is moved to a new target, you cannot use a spell on the target in that same turn?
I would argue that moving it to a new target is not "casting" it again, as it doesn't consume a spell slot. So, you should be free to move to new target as bonus, then cast a spell if you wish.
This isn’t casting, it is just an effect of the spell. Only the initial casting of a spell applies to this rule.
Also, the rule only applies to levelled spells being banned once you cast a bonus action spell. So you can Hex + Eldritch Blast on your first turn, at least.
ok! Bonus question - When the Hex curse is transferred to a new creature, can the chosen ability disadvantage be changed as well?
No. Hex says “choose one ability when you cast the spell.” As established, moving the target isn’t casting.
This is something I misunderstood for so long when I was playing a warlock. Thank you for clarifying this - one way that could help is to imagine that your warlock has six different curses. "With this hex, I curse your dex. By the power of belligerence, I curse your intelligence. I invoke...uh... someone....to curse your wisdom..."
Bonus question, is an arcane focus needed to transfer the hex? I can't find a rule specifiing this. I World guess yes it is needed.
No. The components of a spell are requirements that must be met in order to cast it, and they precede the spell's effect.
Tanks a lot. Yes that makes sense.