Before we start I hope I don't insult anyone with my obsessive use of Rule quoting in this.
Lets say you are a 11th level wizard and a 6th level Artificer can you get two homunculus, I think you can. Receiving one with the spell "Create Homunculus" and one with the Infusion "Homunculus Servant". With out a doubt you cannot get two with just infusions or spells, but mixing them is a little different. Yes I understand the last line in the spell and how Infusions work but hear me out.
Okay the spell stops you from having two with this line,
You can have only one homunculus at a time. If you cast this spell while your homunculus lives, the spell fails.
and the Infusions stop you this way.
each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time
Also at no point that I could see was there mention of The spell Create Homunculus.
Some other things about Infusions
Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days have passed equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day).
All of the Infusions are described as "The magic items you create with this feature are effectively prototypes of permanent items".
Can you make a Homunculus Servant (which is a prototype) then cast Create Homunculus, would the Servant register to stop the spell from working?
If this doesn't work can you cast the Spell then create the Homunculus Servant?
While they have the same name, the creatures created by the Artificer Class Infusion and the Spell create homunculus are different things, created by different means, and have different rules associated with their use and abilities. Rules-wise, I'd say that they are separate things that can co-exist at the same time for the same character.
The spell homunculus would be tied to the spell effects, so re-casting the spell replaces the spell homunculus, but the infusion homunculus would not register to stop the spell from working as it is a different kind of creature and not tied to the spell.
That was my though as well. I became the group DM about 7 years ago and my players come up with all kinds of ways to mess with me. Thanks for the response.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Before we start I hope I don't insult anyone with my obsessive use of Rule quoting in this.
Lets say you are a 11th level wizard and a 6th level Artificer can you get two homunculus, I think you can. Receiving one with the spell "Create Homunculus" and one with the Infusion "Homunculus Servant". With out a doubt you cannot get two with just infusions or spells, but mixing them is a little different. Yes I understand the last line in the spell and how Infusions work but hear me out.
Okay the spell stops you from having two with this line,
You can have only one homunculus at a time. If you cast this spell while your homunculus lives, the spell fails.
and the Infusions stop you this way.
each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time
Also at no point that I could see was there mention of The spell Create Homunculus.
Some other things about Infusions
Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days have passed equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day).
All of the Infusions are described as "The magic items you create with this feature are effectively prototypes of permanent items".
Can you make a Homunculus Servant (which is a prototype) then cast Create Homunculus, would the Servant register to stop the spell from working?
If this doesn't work can you cast the Spell then create the Homunculus Servant?
While they have the same name, the creatures created by the Artificer Class Infusion and the Spell create homunculus are different things, created by different means, and have different rules associated with their use and abilities. Rules-wise, I'd say that they are separate things that can co-exist at the same time for the same character.
The spell homunculus would be tied to the spell effects, so re-casting the spell replaces the spell homunculus, but the infusion homunculus would not register to stop the spell from working as it is a different kind of creature and not tied to the spell.
That was my though as well. I became the group DM about 7 years ago and my players come up with all kinds of ways to mess with me. Thanks for the response.