If you cast a bonus action spell, you cannot use your action to cast a leveled spell, but how does this apply to items that permit casting spells (scrolls, wands, etc)?
If you cast a Bonus Action spell - the only other spell you can cast that turn is a Cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. That's all there is to it. Items that permit casting still have to follow that rule.
Although not stated flat out directly, there is strong circumstantial evidence that you are the one "casting the spell" so it's closer to Cast a Spell action than Use an Item.
While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast thefireball spell (save DC 15) from it.
Also, under Activating Magic Items in DMG:
If an item requires an action to activate, that action isn’t a function of the Use an Item action
Which means the action described in the Wand is not Use an Item.
If you cast a Bonus Action spell - the only other spell you can cast that turn is a Cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. That's all there is to it. Items that permit casting still have to follow that rule.
Mostly I was unsure whether casting from an item was still classified as casting. My first thought was "Bonus Action, Use Object, no problem", but second thought was "wait, that's not the way it's actually worded". Note that there are items that act like casting a spell but don't say you cast a spell (e.g. Elemental Gem).
Mostly I was unsure whether casting from an item was still classified as casting. My first thought was "Bonus Action, Use Object, no problem", but second thought was "wait, that's not the way it's actually worded". Note that there are items that act like casting a spell but don't say you cast a spell (e.g. Elemental Gem).
Correct. And you can use those on the same turn you cast a spell as a bonus action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If you cast a bonus action spell, you cannot use your action to cast a leveled spell, but how does this apply to items that permit casting spells (scrolls, wands, etc)?
If you cast a Bonus Action spell - the only other spell you can cast that turn is a Cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. That's all there is to it. Items that permit casting still have to follow that rule.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Although not stated flat out directly, there is strong circumstantial evidence that you are the one "casting the spell" so it's closer to Cast a Spell action than Use an Item.
Also, under Activating Magic Items in DMG:
Which means the action described in the Wand is not Use an Item.
Furthermore, under Spells section of Magic Items:
This all suggests to me that you are actually casting the spell for all intents and purposes.
That's all there is to it.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Mostly I was unsure whether casting from an item was still classified as casting. My first thought was "Bonus Action, Use Object, no problem", but second thought was "wait, that's not the way it's actually worded". Note that there are items that act like casting a spell but don't say you cast a spell (e.g. Elemental Gem).
Correct. And you can use those on the same turn you cast a spell as a bonus action.