Had a question about the concentration on spells. does that apply to spells cast from items.
for example the staff of the magi allows you to Conjure Elemental which requires concentration to maintain. is this concentration still required when casting from the staff.
This is not necessarily RAW, but as a DM in the edge case of someone casting a spell from a sentient magic item I rule that the sentient item concentrates instead of the character. For an example of this, see https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/blackrazor
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Anything is edible if you try hard enough!
I am a swimmer. If you see me running, you should run too, because it means something horrible is chasing me.
This is not necessarily RAW, but as a DM in the edge case of someone casting a spell from a sentient magic item I rule that the sentient item concentrates instead of the character. For an example of this, see https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/blackrazor
That is specifically how it works for blackrazor which may not always be the case with other sentient items.
Had a question about the concentration on spells. does that apply to spells cast from items.
for example the staff of the magi allows you to Conjure Elemental which requires concentration to maintain. is this concentration still required when casting from the staff.
Yes. If it has phrasing such as "Allows you to cast", or "As though you had cast", then it is equivalent to you casting it naturally.
"While holding the staff, you can use an action to expend some of its Charges to cast one of the following Spells from it"
In the case of the Staff of the Magi, it explicitly states that you are "casting" the spell.
This can be compared to Ring of Invisibility, which simply tells you that you can use an action to turn invisible, with no mention of casting a spell.
This is not necessarily RAW, but as a DM in the edge case of someone casting a spell from a sentient magic item I rule that the sentient item concentrates instead of the character. For an example of this, see https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/blackrazor
Anything is edible if you try hard enough!
I am a swimmer. If you see me running, you should run too, because it means something horrible is chasing me.
That is specifically how it works for blackrazor which may not always be the case with other sentient items.
Note, if you are actually 'casting' a spell, that means you can be Counter-spelled.
If you are not casting, you can not be counter-spelled.
Thank you everyone for your input