had this come up in my game last week. clock work amulet states
When you make an attack roll while wearing the amulet, you can forgo rolling the d20 to get a 10 on the die. Once used, this property can’t be used again until the next dawn.
shove states
The target must be no more than one size larger than you and must be within your reach. Instead of making an attack roll, you make a Strength (Athletics) check contested by the target's Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check (the target chooses the ability to use). You succeed automatically if the target is incapacitated. If you succeed, you either knock the target prone or push it 5 feet away from you.
I ruled it that you can not use the amulet to get a 10 on the strength check because it replaces the attack? was that correct?
had this come up in my game last week. clock work amulet states
When you make an attack roll while wearing the amulet, you can forgo rolling the d20 to get a 10 on the die. Once used, this property can’t be used again until the next dawn.
shove states
The target must be no more than one size larger than you and must be within your reach. Instead of making an attack roll, you make a Strength (Athletics) check contested by the target's Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check (the target chooses the ability to use). You succeed automatically if the target is incapacitated. If you succeed, you either knock the target prone or push it 5 feet away from you.
I ruled it that you can not use the amulet to get a 10 on the strength check because it replaces the attack? was that correct?
"When you make an attack roll" vs "Instead of making an attack roll, you make a Strength (Athletics) check".
Seems clear to me - it won't work for shove.
Agreed. "Attack roll" ≠ "athletics check"