Cantrip only in that case. You still cast the spell even though it was countered.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Check out my Disabled & Dragons Youtube Channel for 5e Monster and Player Tactics. Helping the Disabled Community and Players and DM’s (both new and experienced) get into D&D. Plus there is a talking Dragon named Quill.
This also means you can’t Counterspell the Counterspell either. Just realized that. 🙂
Wrong. You are always allowed to use a reaction.
The rule about no levelled spells does not apply to reactions ever. It only applies to your normal action, as per Sage Advice.
Incorrect by RAW - up to your DM how it plays in their game.
The rule about spells is "If you cast a spell as a bonus action then the only other spells that can be cast on your turn are cantrips with a casting time of one action". This does not exclude spells cast as reactions nor are there any other exclusions.
So in this case, if their misty step is counterspelled - they have cast a bonus action spell so the only other spells they can cast "on their turn" are cantrips with a casting time of one action. If your reaction is used on your turn - it has the same constraints - so no counterspell and no shield as reactions ON YOUR TURN if you cast a bonus action spell.
This also means you can’t Counterspell the Counterspell either. Just realized that. 🙂
Wrong. You are always allowed to use a reaction.
The rule about no levelled spells does not apply to reactions ever. It only applies to your normal action, as per Sage Advice.
Incorrect by RAW - up to your DM how it plays in their game.
The rule about spells is "If you cast a spell as a bonus action then the only other spells that can be cast on your turn are cantrips with a casting time of one action". This does not exclude spells cast as reactions nor are there any other exclusions.
So in this case, if their misty step is counterspelled - they have cast a bonus action spell so the only other spells they can cast "on their turn" are cantrips with a casting time of one action. If your reaction is used on your turn - it has the same constraints - so no counterspell and no shield as reactions ON YOUR TURN if you cast a bonus action spell.
Yes, this is correct. Let’s not go back down that rabbit hole again...
This also means you can’t Counterspell the Counterspell either. Just realized that. 🙂
Wrong. You are always allowed to use a reaction.
The rule about no levelled spells does not apply to reactions ever. It only applies to your normal action, as per Sage Advice.
Incorrect by RAW - up to your DM how it plays in their game.
The rule about spells is "If you cast a spell as a bonus action then the only other spells that can be cast on your turn are cantrips with a casting time of one action". This does not exclude spells cast as reactions nor are there any other exclusions.
So in this case, if their misty step is counterspelled - they have cast a bonus action spell so the only other spells they can cast "on their turn" are cantrips with a casting time of one action. If your reaction is used on your turn - it has the same constraints - so no counterspell and no shield as reactions ON YOUR TURN if you cast a bonus action spell.
Yes, this is correct. Let’s not go back down that rabbit hole again...
Yeah, counterspell is not a cantrip with a casting time of one action, so can't be used on the same turn as a bonus action spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
OK, so I try to Misty Step, but the enemy Wizard Counter spells me.
Am I allowed to cast Dim Door, or can I only cast a cantrip?
If the answer was yes, you could just cast Misty Step again haha
Yeah, what he said.
You used your Bonus action for a cast a spell action. Counterspell says it makes the spell have no effect, not prevent the casting of it.
Cantrip only in that case. You still cast the spell even though it was countered.
Check out my Disabled & Dragons Youtube Channel for 5e Monster and Player Tactics. Helping the Disabled Community and Players and DM’s (both new and experienced) get into D&D. Plus there is a talking Dragon named Quill.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPPmyTI0tZ6nM-bzY0IG3ww
This also means you can’t Counterspell the Counterspell either. Just realized that. 🙂
B
Incorrect. You are always allowed to use a reaction.
The rule about no levelled spells does not apply to reactions ever. It only applies to your normal action, as per Sage Advice.
Incorrect by RAW - up to your DM how it plays in their game.
The rule about spells is "If you cast a spell as a bonus action then the only other spells that can be cast on your turn are cantrips with a casting time of one action". This does not exclude spells cast as reactions nor are there any other exclusions.
So in this case, if their misty step is counterspelled - they have cast a bonus action spell so the only other spells they can cast "on their turn" are cantrips with a casting time of one action. If your reaction is used on your turn - it has the same constraints - so no counterspell and no shield as reactions ON YOUR TURN if you cast a bonus action spell.
Yes, this is correct. Let’s not go back down that rabbit hole again...
Yeah, counterspell is not a cantrip with a casting time of one action, so can't be used on the same turn as a bonus action spell.