Hi! I've just played my very first one shot with some loose rules, and I'd love to clear something up. My character is an Eladrin Elf who is a Druid, and a Sage. For one of those reasons (I'm not sure which, I'm a bit lost on this whole thing), I have the spell Misty Step, which is a level two spell. However, my character is only at level two, and as such only has three level one spell slots, and no level two slots. Does that mean I can't cast this spell yet, or is there some way to work around it? I know it's probably a dumb question, but this could really help me out. Thank you in advance!
Hi! I've just played my very first one shot with some loose rules, and I'd love to clear something up. My character is an Eladrin Elf who is a Druid, and a Sage. For one of those reasons (I'm not sure which, I'm a bit lost on this whole thing), I have the spell Misty Step, which is a level two spell. However, my character is only at level two, and as such only has three level one spell slots, and no level two slots. Does that mean I can't cast this spell yet, or is there some way to work around it? I know it's probably a dumb question, but this could really help me out. Thank you in advance!
I believe you are refering to this:
You can cast the misty step spell once using this trait. You regain the ability to do so when you finish a short or long rest.
In which case, it doesn't use a spell slot, you cast with the feature.
Thank you so much, that totally clears things up!
Not knowing where the spell came from was really your only problem.