I had a thought while looking over my echo knight. I wanted to move a bit (15ft), misty step (30ft), Manifest Echo (15ft), Move echo 30ft, and teleport to echo (costs 15 movement) effectively moving 90ft in my 30 feet of movement. However creating an echo costs 1ba, misty step costs 1ba and tping to the echo costs 1ba. Is there any rule that says a ba cannot be used as an action? I know that if I did that i would have to action surge. which at that point I could just dash the 90ft then misty step an extra 30ft. BUT I namely just want to know if I could use two or more bonus actions in one turn by using my action for the bonus action?
Bonus actions can only be used as Bonus Actions, and Action Surge only grants you another action, not another bonus action. On your turn, you may take 1 (and only 1) bonus action, chosen from any of the options available to you through spells, racial /class abilities, magic items, etc.
I don't think there is a rule that says you can't take a bonus action as an action, but more importantly there definitely is not a rule that says you can. So bonus actions must always be bonus actions.
I don't think there is a rule that says you can't take a bonus action as an action, but more importantly there definitely is not a rule that says you can. So bonus actions must always be bonus actions.
Sage Advice Compendium contains the following:
Can a bonus action be used as an action or vice versa? For example, can a bard use a bonus action to grant a Bardic Inspiration die and an action to cast healing word?
No. Actions and bonus actions aren’t interchangeable. In the example, the bard could use Bardic Inspiration or healing word on a turn, not both.
I don't think there is a rule that says you can't take a bonus action as an action, but more importantly there definitely is not a rule that says you can. So bonus actions must always be bonus actions.
Sage Advice Compendium contains the following:
Can a bonus action be used as an action or vice versa? For example, can a bard use a bonus action to grant a Bardic Inspiration die and an action to cast healing word?
No. Actions and bonus actions aren’t interchangeable. In the example, the bard could use Bardic Inspiration or healing word on a turn, not both.
Oh, I knew there was an SAC ruling, which is RAW, but not a core rulebook (as many like to point out). I was talking about rules, particularly in PHB or DMG (but XGtE or TCoE would be good too).
I had a thought while looking over my echo knight. I wanted to move a bit (15ft), misty step (30ft), Manifest Echo (15ft), Move echo 30ft, and teleport to echo (costs 15 movement) effectively moving 90ft in my 30 feet of movement. However creating an echo costs 1ba, misty step costs 1ba and tping to the echo costs 1ba. Is there any rule that says a ba cannot be used as an action? I know that if I did that i would have to action surge. which at that point I could just dash the 90ft then misty step an extra 30ft. BUT I namely just want to know if I could use two or more bonus actions in one turn by using my action for the bonus action?
No. Things that cost bonus actions cannot be done with regular actions instead.
Bonus actions can only be used as Bonus Actions, and Action Surge only grants you another action, not another bonus action. On your turn, you may take 1 (and only 1) bonus action, chosen from any of the options available to you through spells, racial /class abilities, magic items, etc.
I don't think there is a rule that says you can't take a bonus action as an action, but more importantly there definitely is not a rule that says you can. So bonus actions must always be bonus actions.
Sage Advice Compendium contains the following:
Shame. Well now I know, thanks y'all.
Oh, I knew there was an SAC ruling, which is RAW, but not a core rulebook (as many like to point out). I was talking about rules, particularly in PHB or DMG (but XGtE or TCoE would be good too).