How about Fizban's Platinum Shield? It only affects one target on casting, but that target can be shifted later. In addition if you can cast it...could you shift both targets as a bonus action?
I'd go no . . but a dm might go yes as its a relatively new spell.
My 'No' is because it falls in the same bracket as 'Hex' which you also can't Twin as they fall foul of the wording "a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level". The bonus action bump is targeting another creature.
How about Fizban's Platinum Shield? It only affects one target on casting, but that target can be shifted later. In addition if you can cast it...could you shift both targets as a bonus action?
The metamagic is clear as mud, but FWIW, we do have a JC tweet confirming that the RAI is that any spell capable of multiple targeting can't be twinned even if additional targets could only come up later. I believe he was specifically tweeting about Telekinesis, but it's also the case that his ruling is the only possibly consistent one - otherwise we'd need a way to determine how much "later" targeting has to happen to be allowed, and we have no rules basis for doing that.
Here's an allegedly complete list of Twinnable L6 spells, but I'm using a buggy tool to try and execute my spell search, so I might leave some out.
Is there a list out there....
How about Fizban's Platinum Shield? It only affects one target on casting, but that target can be shifted later. In addition if you can cast it...could you shift both targets as a bonus action?
I'd go no . . but a dm might go yes as its a relatively new spell.
My 'No' is because it falls in the same bracket as 'Hex' which you also can't Twin as they fall foul of the wording "a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level". The bonus action bump is targeting another creature.
Indeed, hex is also interesting, as they both can only target one create at a time...
The metamagic is clear as mud, but FWIW, we do have a JC tweet confirming that the RAI is that any spell capable of multiple targeting can't be twinned even if additional targets could only come up later. I believe he was specifically tweeting about Telekinesis, but it's also the case that his ruling is the only possibly consistent one - otherwise we'd need a way to determine how much "later" targeting has to happen to be allowed, and we have no rules basis for doing that.
Here's an allegedly complete list of Twinnable L6 spells, but I'm using a buggy tool to try and execute my spell search, so I might leave some out.