Either way, you can only Quicken a Spell that you cast, not any Action.
Some magic items, like the 2014 version of the Wand of Web say you "Use an action" to cast a spell, which under the 2014 rules is a "Use an Item" action. Others, like the 2014 Ring of Spell Storing, let you cast a spell.
There are also further restrictions on bonus action spells, and on the Quickened Spell metamagic that work slightly differently between 2014 and 2024 rules.
So which version of the rules are you asking about, which item, and which spells?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
The 2014 Rules generally don't care about whether or not you use a spell slot. The "One spell per turn with a Spell Slot" rule is from the 2024 ruleset.
When you cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 action, you can spend 2 sorcery points to change the casting time to 1 bonus action for this casting.
The 2014 rules on Bonus Action spellcasting are as follows:
Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
So, to take your Cape of the Mountebank example, if you decide you are going to use it to cast Dimension Door on a turn and use the Quicken Spell Metamagic on that casting, you cannot cast any other spells on that turn except 1-action Cantrips. Same with a Quickened Scorching Ray from the Circlet of Blasting.
Similarly, under the 2014 rules, you cannot cast either spell if you have already Quickened any spell on that Turn.
.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Generally when you cast a spell from an item, it's still you casting the spell. There are a few exceptions for things like sentient magic weapons, but most of the time it's still you casting the spell using the item.
Hello,
Can I use a spell slot to cast the spell and then quicken an action to use item to cast another spell (without using a spell slot)?
Which set of rules? 2014 or 2024?
Either way, you can only Quicken a Spell that you cast, not any Action.
Some magic items, like the 2014 version of the Wand of Web say you "Use an action" to cast a spell, which under the 2014 rules is a "Use an Item" action. Others, like the 2014 Ring of Spell Storing, let you cast a spell.
There are also further restrictions on bonus action spells, and on the Quickened Spell metamagic that work slightly differently between 2014 and 2024 rules.
So which version of the rules are you asking about, which item, and which spells?
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Charisma Saving Throw: DC 18, Failure: 20d6 Psychic Damage, Success: Half damage
Hi, sorry - 2014 rules.
For example, I would use circlet of blasting, quicken and use scorching ray.
Or cape of the mountebank (dimension door), quicken and use any other spell with the spell slot.
Am I able to do so? Becaus, I'm not using a spell slot with an item.
The 2014 Rules generally don't care about whether or not you use a spell slot. The "One spell per turn with a Spell Slot" rule is from the 2024 ruleset.
The 2014 rules on Quickened Spell:
The 2014 rules on Bonus Action spellcasting are as follows:
So, to take your Cape of the Mountebank example, if you decide you are going to use it to cast Dimension Door on a turn and use the Quicken Spell Metamagic on that casting, you cannot cast any other spells on that turn except 1-action Cantrips. Same with a Quickened Scorching Ray from the Circlet of Blasting.
Similarly, under the 2014 rules, you cannot cast either spell if you have already Quickened any spell on that Turn.
.
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Charisma Saving Throw: DC 18, Failure: 20d6 Psychic Damage, Success: Half damage
In 2024 you can use a item and then quick a spell as the item is not you casting a spell it is using a item.
I spell Goodly.
Generally when you cast a spell from an item, it's still you casting the spell. There are a few exceptions for things like sentient magic weapons, but most of the time it's still you casting the spell using the item.
Take a look at the Wand of Magic Missiles, for instance. It says "you can expend no more than 3 charges to cast Magic Missile from it".
pronouns: he/she/they
Thank you!