So I'm wondering what's the common thoughts on the concentration part of spells like witch bolt if they are twinned with metamagic? can you keep it on both targets? the twinned spell metamagic in the PHB doesn't mention anything about concentration.
Twinning a spell does not make you cast the spell twice. You cast only one spell with a twinned effect, and you can keep concentration on that one spell.
i forget where i saw it, but someone had gone through the whole spell list to figure out which metamagic applied to which spell.
If i remember correctly, Twinned can only be used on a spell that has a single target. Twinned Witch Bolt should work, as you are only casting the spell once, but modifying it to target two creatures. Concentration still applies as per -one- spell.
I normally take Twinned and Distant as my metamagics.
Twinning concentration spells is really the only strong bit IMO that sorcerers can do, effectively breaking a specific rule all other spellcasters have to follow. Twinned hold person? twinned charm person? and so on.
I see some say if either leaves range it ends but I would point out in the spell it mentions sustained arc from you and target and if they take full cover it ends so if Twinning it would be two separate arcs. One from you to target A and one from you to target B... therefor range is 30ft for each target from you, seen some discuss how would range work but most agree with that but would really argue when peeps say either leave range it ends on both because that is totally ignoring the whole bit about sustained arc forming and how when arc is cut off it ends and if its two separate arcs why would one ending affect the other arc?
I see some say if either leaves range it ends but I would point out in the spell it mentions sustained arc from you and target and if they take full cover it ends so if Twinning it would be two separate arcs. One from you to target A and one from you to target B... therefor range is 30ft for each target from you, seen some discuss how would range work but most agree with that but would really argue when peeps say either leave range it ends on both because that is totally ignoring the whole bit about sustained arc forming and how when arc is cut off it ends and if its two separate arcs why would one ending affect the other arc?
The description of Witch Bolt says "the spell ends if the target is ever outside the spell's range or if it has total cover from you". It doesn't say that the spell just ends for that target; it says the spell ends, period. This means that a strict reading of the rules would say that either target getting out of range or behind total cover would end the spell for both of them. In practice, a lot of DMs might allow it to only end on that one target, because that seems more logical.
The part about "a sustained arc" is flavor text and doesn't really impact the mechanics of the spell.
Also worth noting, since this thread has been dead for about seven years, that the current (2024) version of Twinned Spell can't be used with Witch Bolt at all.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I'm wondering what's the common thoughts on the concentration part of spells like witch bolt if they are twinned with metamagic? can you keep it on both targets? the twinned spell metamagic in the PHB doesn't mention anything about concentration.
Twinning a spell does not make you cast the spell twice. You cast only one spell with a twinned effect, and you can keep concentration on that one spell.
i forget where i saw it, but someone had gone through the whole spell list to figure out which metamagic applied to which spell.
If i remember correctly, Twinned can only be used on a spell that has a single target. Twinned Witch Bolt should work, as you are only casting the spell once, but modifying it to target two creatures. Concentration still applies as per -one- spell.
I normally take Twinned and Distant as my metamagics.
Twinning concentration spells is really the only strong bit IMO that sorcerers can do, effectively breaking a specific rule all other spellcasters have to follow. Twinned hold person? twinned charm person? and so on.
I see some say if either leaves range it ends but I would point out in the spell it mentions sustained arc from you and target and if they take full cover it ends so if Twinning it would be two separate arcs. One from you to target A and one from you to target B... therefor range is 30ft for each target from you, seen some discuss how would range work but most agree with that but would really argue when peeps say either leave range it ends on both because that is totally ignoring the whole bit about sustained arc forming and how when arc is cut off it ends and if its two separate arcs why would one ending affect the other arc?
The description of Witch Bolt says "the spell ends if the target is ever outside the spell's range or if it has total cover from you". It doesn't say that the spell just ends for that target; it says the spell ends, period. This means that a strict reading of the rules would say that either target getting out of range or behind total cover would end the spell for both of them. In practice, a lot of DMs might allow it to only end on that one target, because that seems more logical.
The part about "a sustained arc" is flavor text and doesn't really impact the mechanics of the spell.
Also worth noting, since this thread has been dead for about seven years, that the current (2024) version of Twinned Spell can't be used with Witch Bolt at all.
pronouns: he/she/they