So, I'm playing a Kenku Blood Hunter in a campaign, and have a lot of expendable HP. Can you have 2 different activated crimson Rites on the same weapon at the same time?
So, this is a paragraph in the RAW of the blood hunter class that should answer your question:
“Crimson rite can be used on multiple weapons, costing additional hit point loss. Most weapons can only be subject to a single rite at any given time. Each end of a polearm or quarterstaff is treated as a separate weapon for the purposes of this feature. A rite can be allowed to fade at any time (no action required).”
So based on this, unless you’re using a quarter staff, polearm, or something like that, the answer is no. As a DM I would allow the two blades of a double bladed sword to have different rites as well. But yeah, no, like a longsword cannot and should not have more than one rite active at a time. It’d would get too overpowered if you could have 2-5 different ones going off each time you hit.
Our blood hunter is Order of the Lycan. I would let him put a different crimson rite on each claw, which I think is consistent with RAW in this case. Whether it is beneficial is another question entirely, as a single rite can be put on both claws while taking the hit point dip only once. A second rite would be a second dip.
Public Mod Note(MellieDM): Please do not revive old threads as per our Thread Necromancy rules. You may start a new thread to discuss this topic with our current community!
Doesn't it say in the RAW that a lycan's claws are considered one weapon for the purposes of crimson rite?
Public Mod Note
(MellieDM):
Please do not revive old threads as per our Thread Necromancy rules. You may start a new thread to discuss this topic with our current community!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, I'm playing a Kenku Blood Hunter in a campaign, and have a lot of expendable HP. Can you have 2 different activated crimson Rites on the same weapon at the same time?
So, this is a paragraph in the RAW of the blood hunter class that should answer your question:
“Crimson rite can be used on multiple weapons, costing additional hit point loss. Most weapons can only be subject to a single rite at any given time. Each end of a polearm or quarterstaff is treated as a separate weapon for the purposes of this feature. A rite can be allowed to fade at any time (no action required).”
So based on this, unless you’re using a quarter staff, polearm, or something like that, the answer is no. As a DM I would allow the two blades of a double bladed sword to have different rites as well. But yeah, no, like a longsword cannot and should not have more than one rite active at a time. It’d would get too overpowered if you could have 2-5 different ones going off each time you hit.
Our blood hunter is Order of the Lycan. I would let him put a different crimson rite on each claw, which I think is consistent with RAW in this case. Whether it is beneficial is another question entirely, as a single rite can be put on both claws while taking the hit point dip only once. A second rite would be a second dip.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Doesn't it say in the RAW that a lycan's claws are considered one weapon for the purposes of crimson rite?