The new wording of sentinel has changed. "Immediately after a creature within 5 feet of you takes the Disengage action or hits a target other than you with an attack, you can make an Opportunity Attack against that creature." DM is saying it requires the enemy to hit the attack for sentinel to activate. I know this isn't how sentinel used to work. Why did they change the wording like that? Is it it intentional?
The DM is correct. If you are playing using the 2024 rules, the enemy must hit your ally with the attack before you can opportunity attack them using Sentinel.
Another thing to note is the "5 feet of you" portion of the disengagement rule. The old Sentinel feat allowed you to take an opportunity attack when they used the disengage action and then moved out of your reach. Now, your reach doesn't matter. You can only take the opportunity attack when they use disengage within 5 feet of you, regardless of the reach of your weapons. So if an enemy is fighting you in melee with a glaive at 10 feet, you can't use Sentinel to stop them from disengaging from you.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The new wording of sentinel has changed. "Immediately after a creature within 5 feet of you takes the Disengage action or hits a target other than you with an attack, you can make an Opportunity Attack against that creature." DM is saying it requires the enemy to hit the attack for sentinel to activate. I know this isn't how sentinel used to work. Why did they change the wording like that? Is it it intentional?
The DM is correct. If you are playing using the 2024 rules, the enemy must hit your ally with the attack before you can opportunity attack them using Sentinel.
Another thing to note is the "5 feet of you" portion of the disengagement rule. The old Sentinel feat allowed you to take an opportunity attack when they used the disengage action and then moved out of your reach. Now, your reach doesn't matter. You can only take the opportunity attack when they use disengage within 5 feet of you, regardless of the reach of your weapons. So if an enemy is fighting you in melee with a glaive at 10 feet, you can't use Sentinel to stop them from disengaging from you.