How do I explain to my DM that my vessel does not weigh more if I put things inside it? We had a player die, cleric, and I wanted to save her equipment in case she could be brought back. I put all 100 lbs of it into my vessel. My DM told me that my vessel (a marble) now weighs 100lds. His explanation was that it would say in the description of the vessel that is maintains a certain weight, to which he sighted the bag of holding.
How do I explain to my DM that my vessel does not weigh more if I put things inside it? We had a player die, cleric, and I wanted to save her equipment in case she could be brought back. I put all 100 lbs of it into my vessel. My DM told me that my vessel (a marble) now weighs 100lds. His explanation was that it would say in the description of the vessel that is maintains a certain weight, to which he sighted the bag of holding.
Your DM is misinterpreting the term "extradimensional space", which to be fair isn't precisely defined in any core rulebook that I know of. However, before we proceed, I should emphasize that all we can do here is discuss the RAW - your DM gave an explanation based on a reading of the rules, but absolutely does not have to. If your DM wants to nerf your vessel into near-uselessness as some sort of balancing measure, they absolutely can. It's 100% appropriate to ensure your DM knows the RAW so they can house-rule it as they see fit - it is 100% inappropriate to argue with them about a house rule.
Getting that out of the way, the rule you need is here. The interior of your vessel is not on the Prime Material, so it can't interact with the Prime Material in any way. If your marble's weight has gone up from the equipment inside it, that means mass in another dimension is exerting gravity in the Prime Material (i.e. your DM has ruled your marble emits gravity based on its contained mass), which is bonkers, especially because Genie Vessels have no weight limit. They only have a volume limit. That would mean e.g. with an army of Genielocks nesting their vessels inside each other like a Matryoshka doll, you could functionally construct a black hole. That's beyond absurd.
How do I explain to my DM that my vessel does not weigh more if I put things inside it? We had a player die, cleric, and I wanted to save her equipment in case she could be brought back. I put all 100 lbs of it into my vessel. My DM told me that my vessel (a marble) now weighs 100lds. His explanation was that it would say in the description of the vessel that is maintains a certain weight, to which he sighted the bag of holding.
Your DM is misinterpreting the term "extradimensional space", which to be fair isn't precisely defined in any core rulebook that I know of. However, before we proceed, I should emphasize that all we can do here is discuss the RAW - your DM gave an explanation based on a reading of the rules, but absolutely does not have to. If your DM wants to nerf your vessel into near-uselessness as some sort of balancing measure, they absolutely can. It's 100% appropriate to ensure your DM knows the RAW so they can house-rule it as they see fit - it is 100% inappropriate to argue with them about a house rule.
Getting that out of the way, the rule you need is here. The interior of your vessel is not on the Prime Material, so it can't interact with the Prime Material in any way. If your marble's weight has gone up from the equipment inside it, that means mass in another dimension is exerting gravity in the Prime Material (i.e. your DM has ruled your marble emits gravity based on its contained mass), which is bonkers, especially because Genie Vessels have no weight limit. They only have a volume limit. That would mean e.g. with an army of Genielocks nesting their vessels inside each other like a Matryoshka doll, you could functionally construct a black hole. That's beyond absurd.