How does this work? Can I claim I'm attacking with "STR" but behind the scenes the STR is being modifying using CHA and still have the "rage" bonus count?
At 1st level, you acquire the training necessary to effectively arm yourself for battle. You gain proficiency with medium armor, shields, and martial weapons.
The influence of your patron also allows you to mystically channel your will through a particular weapon. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property. When you attack with that weapon, you can use your Charisma modifier, instead of Strength or Dexterity, for the attack and damage rolls. This benefit lasts until you finish a long rest. If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon’s type.
No. Attacking with a finesse weapon to use your dexterity makes it use dexterity instead of strength. Hex warrior is Chanesse.
Maybe I need to Clarify my about post. I asking about the interaction of the Hex Warrior ability and What is the Modifier is modifying.
Is the Modifier the "Ability" and STR/DEX now using and are consisted to be a Charisma score based attack
OR, Is the Modifier both the Feature & CHA stat... meaning the Attack is Technically STR or DEX but a ability allows for the modification and a Higher CHA score allows for the higher ability score to be used instead. Not a replacement of STR/DEX based attack but an over writing of the higher ability score being used in place of the attack.
It feels like the later is correct if read as it is printed: When you attack with that weapon, you can use your Charisma modifier, instead of Strength or Dexterity, for the attack and damage rolls.
I'm just using CHA as the "Modifier" , not changing the fact the attack is a STR or DEX based weapon attack.
... maybe Sage Advise says something about this. I guess its all about interpretation
No. Attacking with a finesse weapon to use your dexterity makes it use dexterity instead of strength. Hex warrior is Chanesse.
Maybe I need to Clarify my about post. I asking about the interaction of the Hex Warrior ability and What is the Modifier is modifying.
Is the Modifier the "Ability" and STR/DEX now using and are consisted to be a Charisma score based attack
OR, Is the Modifier both the Feature & CHA stat... meaning the Attack is Technically STR or DEX but a ability allows for the modification and a Higher CHA score allows for the higher ability score to be used instead. Not a replacement of STR/DEX based attack but an over writing of the higher ability score being used in place of the attack.
It feels like the later is correct if read as it is printed: When you attack with that weapon, you can use your Charisma modifier, instead of Strength or Dexterity, for the attack and damage rolls.
I'm just using CHA as the "Modifier" , not changing the fact the attack is a STR or DEX based weapon attack.
... maybe Sage Advise says something about this. I guess its all about interpretation
No it is not. Using a different ability as the modifier changes the attack to that ability.
Are you talking about a barbarian's rage ability? Because if so, you can't maintain concentration on a spell while raging. So there is close to no synergy between the two classes. Just a bit confused here.
No. Attacking with a finesse weapon to use your dexterity makes it use dexterity instead of strength. Hex warrior is Chanesse.
Maybe I need to Clarify my about post. I asking about the interaction of the Hex Warrior ability and What is the Modifier is modifying.
Is the Modifier the "Ability" and STR/DEX now using and are consisted to be a Charisma score based attack
OR, Is the Modifier both the Feature & CHA stat... meaning the Attack is Technically STR or DEX but a ability allows for the modification and a Higher CHA score allows for the higher ability score to be used instead. Not a replacement of STR/DEX based attack but an over writing of the higher ability score being used in place of the attack.
It feels like the later is correct if read as it is printed: When you attack with that weapon, you can use your Charisma modifier, instead of Strength or Dexterity, for the attack and damage rolls.
I'm just using CHA as the "Modifier" , not changing the fact the attack is a STR or DEX based weapon attack.
... maybe Sage Advise says something about this. I guess its all about interpretation
Barbarian abilities are pretty explicit. If they say they apply only when you attack with Strength, then that's what they do. Hex Warrior doesn't change that. If you're attacking with Charisma, you're no longer attacking with Strength. So things like Rage damage bonuses, Reckless Attack, etc. will not come into play.
I actually have an arugment in favor of this combo. chiefly, that the idea of using your charisma to attack makes me imagine the weapon behaving according to your will, think Alucard in the castelvania netflix show. This is NOT a spell this is a class ability so you're not casting and it doesn't require concentration. Thus you're still allowed to use it and as far as the flavor of being in rage, that's only going to add to your "desire" to stab the mob in the face.
I think this needs a official ruling. The feature states you use a "different modifier" not a "different ability score" to replace what is normally determined by STR/DEX. It's to vague to definitively state you can't have a hexbarian.(In my opinion) All this really does is allows a charismatic barbarian who could add hex blades curse. Not that op. You still have all the normal constraints on rage. Personally I'd love to see a hexbarian at my table. I mean we are talking about a universe with fantastical creatures and magic and sentient items....
It's pretty clear, if you are Raging and want to get your rage bonus damage, you need to attack with STR.
If you are using the CHA modifier, then you are attacking with CHA, not STR. The wording here is very similar to the wording about finesse weapons.
"Finesse. When making an attack with a finesse weapon, you use your choice of your Strength or Dexterity modifier for the attack and damage rolls. You must use the same modifier for both rolls."
The modifier you are using IS the ability you are attacking with.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
How does this work? Can I claim I'm attacking with "STR" but behind the scenes the STR is being modifying using CHA and still have the "rage" bonus count?
At 1st level, you acquire the training necessary to effectively arm yourself for battle. You gain proficiency with medium armor, shields, and martial weapons.
The influence of your patron also allows you to mystically channel your will through a particular weapon. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property. When you attack with that weapon, you can use your Charisma modifier, instead of Strength or Dexterity, for the attack and damage rolls. This benefit lasts until you finish a long rest. If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon’s type.
No. Attacking with a finesse weapon to use your dexterity makes it use dexterity instead of strength. Hex warrior is Chanesse.
I have a weird sense of humor.
I also make maps.(That's a link)
Maybe I need to Clarify my about post. I asking about the interaction of the Hex Warrior ability and What is the Modifier is modifying.
Is the Modifier the "Ability" and STR/DEX now using and are consisted to be a Charisma score based attack
OR, Is the Modifier both the Feature & CHA stat... meaning the Attack is Technically STR or DEX but a ability allows for the modification and a Higher CHA score allows for the higher ability score to be used instead. Not a replacement of STR/DEX based attack but an over writing of the higher ability score being used in place of the attack.
It feels like the later is correct if read as it is printed: When you attack with that weapon, you can use your Charisma modifier, instead of Strength or Dexterity, for the attack and damage rolls.
I'm just using CHA as the "Modifier" , not changing the fact the attack is a STR or DEX based weapon attack.
... maybe Sage Advise says something about this. I guess its all about interpretation
No it is not. Using a different ability as the modifier changes the attack to that ability.
I have a weird sense of humor.
I also make maps.(That's a link)
Are you talking about a barbarian's rage ability? Because if so, you can't maintain concentration on a spell while raging. So there is close to no synergy between the two classes. Just a bit confused here.
Barbarian abilities are pretty explicit. If they say they apply only when you attack with Strength, then that's what they do. Hex Warrior doesn't change that. If you're attacking with Charisma, you're no longer attacking with Strength. So things like Rage damage bonuses, Reckless Attack, etc. will not come into play.
I actually have an arugment in favor of this combo.
chiefly, that the idea of using your charisma to attack makes me imagine the weapon behaving according to your will, think Alucard in the castelvania netflix show.
This is NOT a spell this is a class ability so you're not casting and it doesn't require concentration. Thus you're still allowed to use it and as far as the flavor of being in rage, that's only going to add to your "desire" to stab the mob in the face.
I think this needs a official ruling. The feature states you use a "different modifier" not a "different ability score" to replace what is normally determined by STR/DEX. It's to vague to definitively state you can't have a hexbarian.(In my opinion) All this really does is allows a charismatic barbarian who could add hex blades curse. Not that op. You still have all the normal constraints on rage. Personally I'd love to see a hexbarian at my table. I mean we are talking about a universe with fantastical creatures and magic and sentient items....
It's pretty clear, if you are Raging and want to get your rage bonus damage, you need to attack with STR.
If you are using the CHA modifier, then you are attacking with CHA, not STR. The wording here is very similar to the wording about finesse weapons.
"Finesse. When making an attack with a finesse weapon, you use your choice of your Strength or Dexterity modifier for the attack and damage rolls. You must use the same modifier for both rolls."
The modifier you are using IS the ability you are attacking with.