I have just started a genie warlock and I have put a 1 level divine soul sorcerer on it (for diversity and lots of cantrips). Then I realised I can use my sorcerer spells with warlock slots. What would happen if I also put a Wizard level on my character? Can I copy ANY wizard spell up to level 5 with a single wizard level, using my warlock spell slots?
So far, the rules I have found sais:
"Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it."
"Pact Magic. If you have both the Spellcasting class feature and the Pact Magic class feature from the warlock class, you can use the spell slots you gain from the Pact Magic feature to cast spells you know or have prepared from classes with the Spellcasting class feature, and you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know."
My build would be: Warlock Genie (up to level 17) - Sorcerer Divine Soul (level 1) - Wizard Order of Scribes (level 2)
If you check the Your Spellbook box for Wizards (page 114), it says that spells copied into your spellbook must be of a level that your wizard can prepare. I.E. Ones that match your Wizard levels. If you had one level of Wizard you could copy down any level 1 Wizard spells you encountered, but you couldn't copy anything higher.
That would let you upcast 1st level wizard spells at 5th level, but wouldn't give you access to 2nd level wizard spells unless you took 2 more levels of wizard.
If you check the Your Spellbook box for Wizards (page 114), it says that spells copied into your spellbook must be of a level that your wizard can prepare. I.E. Ones that match your Wizard levels. If you had one level of Wizard you could copy down any level 1 Wizard spells you encountered, but you couldn't copy anything higher.
Could you copy the line where it sais "... that your wizard can prepare." please?
I can only find "...if it is of a spell level you can prepare..." (the same box on page 114) - which refers to the character, not the class level. I have checked both Beyond as well as the printed books.
"When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it."
I like your line of thinking. The spellbook only specifies that the spell has to be a wizard spell and a level that you can prepare. Those are two separate criteria. The issue here is that warlocks don't prepare spells. A warlock can't even prepare a level 1 spell, never mind a level 5 spell. You could possibly make an argument for this trick if you are leveling artificer, cleric, or druid (who all prepare spells). However, I don't think it would work for other casters (like bard, sorcerer, or warlock) who know spells.
If you check the Your Spellbook box for Wizards (page 114), it says that spells copied into your spellbook must be of a level that your wizard can prepare. I.E. Ones that match your Wizard levels. If you had one level of Wizard you could copy down any level 1 Wizard spells you encountered, but you couldn't copy anything higher.
Could you copy the line where it sais "... that your wizard can prepare." please?
I can only find "...if it is of a spell level you can prepare..." (the same box on page 114) - which refers to the character, not the class level. I have checked both Beyond as well as the printed books.
It was in the first Errata. "The spells copied into a spellbook must be of a spell level that the Wizard can prepare."
Page 164, "You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single classed member of that class. ]f you are a ranger 4/wizard 3, for example, you know three Ist level ranger spells based on your levels in the ranger class. As 3rd-Ievel wizard, you know three wizard cantrips, and your spellbook contains ten wizard spells, two of which (the two you gained when you reached 3rd level as a wizard) can be 2nd-levei spells. If your Intelligence is 16, you can prepare six wizard spells from your spellbook."
The issue here is that warlocks don't prepare spells.
Your reaction really got me thinking :D. I liked it! However:
Pact Magic "...you can use the spell slots you gain from the Pact Magic feature to cast spells you know or have prepared from classes with the Spellcasting class feature..." This sais the character knows how to prepare spells en to use known spells.
Freman_Blookglaive
It was in the first Errata. "The spells copied into a spellbook must be of a spell level that the Wizard can prepare."
I dont know where to find the errata. It is not changed on the digital books on D&D Beyond though...
Page 164, "You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single classed member of that class. "
This line is the single and only line that is preventing my idea... It is a logical line, but I couldn't find it (I guess I read too quickly).
Pact Magic "...you can use the spell slots you gain from the Pact Magic feature to cast spells you know or have prepared from classes with the Spellcasting class feature..." This sais the character knows how to prepare spells en to use known spells.
This doesn't say that pact magic lets you prepare spells, only that you can cast spells that have been prepared.
I have just started a genie warlock and I have put a 1 level divine soul sorcerer on it (for diversity and lots of cantrips). Then I realised I can use my sorcerer spells with warlock slots. What would happen if I also put a Wizard level on my character? Can I copy ANY wizard spell up to level 5 with a single wizard level, using my warlock spell slots?
So far, the rules I have found sais:
"Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it."
"Pact Magic. If you have both the Spellcasting class feature and the Pact Magic class feature from the warlock class, you can use the spell slots you gain from the Pact Magic feature to cast spells you know or have prepared from classes with the Spellcasting class feature, and you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know."
My build would be: Warlock Genie (up to level 17) - Sorcerer Divine Soul (level 1) - Wizard Order of Scribes (level 2)
If you check the Your Spellbook box for Wizards (page 114), it says that spells copied into your spellbook must be of a level that your wizard can prepare. I.E. Ones that match your Wizard levels. If you had one level of Wizard you could copy down any level 1 Wizard spells you encountered, but you couldn't copy anything higher.
That would let you upcast 1st level wizard spells at 5th level, but wouldn't give you access to 2nd level wizard spells unless you took 2 more levels of wizard.
Could you copy the line where it sais "... that your wizard can prepare." please?
I can only find "...if it is of a spell level you can prepare..." (the same box on page 114) - which refers to the character, not the class level. I have checked both Beyond as well as the printed books.
"When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it."
I like your line of thinking. The spellbook only specifies that the spell has to be a wizard spell and a level that you can prepare. Those are two separate criteria. The issue here is that warlocks don't prepare spells. A warlock can't even prepare a level 1 spell, never mind a level 5 spell. You could possibly make an argument for this trick if you are leveling artificer, cleric, or druid (who all prepare spells). However, I don't think it would work for other casters (like bard, sorcerer, or warlock) who know spells.
How to add tooltips on dndbeyond
It was in the first Errata. "The spells copied into a spellbook must be of a spell level that the Wizard can prepare."
Page 164, "You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single classed member of that class. ]f you are a ranger 4/wizard 3, for example, you know three Ist level ranger spells based on your levels in the ranger class. As 3rd-Ievel wizard, you know
three wizard cantrips, and your spellbook contains ten wizard spells, two of which (the two you gained when you reached 3rd level as a wizard) can be 2nd-levei spells. If your Intelligence is 16, you can prepare six wizard spells from your spellbook."
TwoFaceTony
Your reaction really got me thinking :D. I liked it! However:
Pact Magic "...you can use the spell slots you gain from the Pact Magic feature to cast spells you know or have prepared from classes with the Spellcasting class feature..." This sais the character knows how to prepare spells en to use known spells.
Freman_Blookglaive
I dont know where to find the errata. It is not changed on the digital books on D&D Beyond though...
This line is the single and only line that is preventing my idea... It is a logical line, but I couldn't find it (I guess I read too quickly).
Thanks everyone!
This doesn't say that pact magic lets you prepare spells, only that you can cast spells that have been prepared.
How to add tooltips on dndbeyond
Hey thats right. I guess I was a little too excited to get that. Thanks!!!