You can perform an esoteric rite for 1 minute. At the end of it, you regain expended Pact Magic spell slots but no more than a number equal to half your maximum (round up). Once you use this feature, you can’t do so again until you finish a Long Rest.
It says perform an esoteric rite for 1 minute? 1 minute equals 10 rounds is that correct? So if I'm in the middle of combat and I need a pact slot I have to perform this rite that will take up to 10 rounds before I regain one pact slot? Does this require an action?
If you're trying to do it during combat, I'd treat it as casting a spell with a long casting time.
But it's really meant for giving you a recharge between fights. The number of situations where you can use it within the time-frame of combat is very small.
(Also I'd let you start over until you succeed if you get interrupted.)
2024 longer casting times - FYI only as the OP is asking about a Rite and not a ritual, but as Jurmonder suggested taking damage could interrupt the rite as per concentration rules. And same as concentration being broken and the spell slot not being used up, I would also say they ability to perform the rite once per long rest is not used up if you have to restart due to failed concentration.
considering this is essentially the 2014 feature 20th level eldrich master. because it allows you to regain half your pact magic slots WITHOUT, listing that is takes an action, bonus action, reaction, or any type of those, with no listing for magic or concentration. This on top of the wording of an "esoteric rite" it could be so much as a prayer in the heart of the warlock, unseen, unheard, and requiring nothing else. this makes it a free action free of draw backs RAW. Dms can rule as they please but any restriction that isnt raw essentially renders this useless because theres no reason any reasonable player would take a long rest for HALF their spells versus a short rest for ALL their spells.
considering this is essentially the 2014 feature 20th level eldrich master. because it allows you to regain half your pact magic slots WITHOUT, listing that is takes an action, bonus action, reaction, or any type of those, with no listing for magic or concentration. This on top of the wording of an "esoteric rite" it could be so much as a prayer in the heart of the warlock, unseen, unheard, and requiring nothing else. this makes it a free action free of draw backs RAW. Dms can rule as they please but any restriction that isnt raw essentially renders this useless because theres no reason any reasonable player would take a long rest for HALF their spells versus a short rest for ALL their spells.
It's not a "free action free of drawbacks RAW". The nature of invoking it in combat is undefined. And, frankly, pretty much irrelevant. A one-minute activity in combat just doesn't happen. If it's actually relevant, the DM can make the call, but classing a "rite" as a free action is unlikely to be most DM's rulings, though you can rule it that way if you want.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
You can perform an esoteric rite for 1 minute. At the end of it, you regain expended Pact Magic spell slots but no more than a number equal to half your maximum (round up). Once you use this feature, you can’t do so again until you finish a Long Rest.
It says perform an esoteric rite for 1 minute? 1 minute equals 10 rounds is that correct? So if I'm in the middle of combat and I need a pact slot I have to perform this rite that will take up to 10 rounds before I regain one pact slot? Does this require an action?
Also how would you RP this during combat?
I would rule that taking damage interrupts your rites.
If you're trying to do it during combat, I'd treat it as casting a spell with a long casting time.
But it's really meant for giving you a recharge between fights. The number of situations where you can use it within the time-frame of combat is very small.
(Also I'd let you start over until you succeed if you get interrupted.)
This is used between fights when you can’t take a short rest?
Yes.
Thanks for clarifying that.
2024 longer casting times - FYI only as the OP is asking about a Rite and not a ritual, but as Jurmonder suggested taking damage could interrupt the rite as per concentration rules. And same as concentration being broken and the spell slot not being used up, I would also say they ability to perform the rite once per long rest is not used up if you have to restart due to failed concentration.
Life's hard - get a helmet!
considering this is essentially the 2014 feature 20th level eldrich master. because it allows you to regain half your pact magic slots WITHOUT, listing that is takes an action, bonus action, reaction, or any type of those, with no listing for magic or concentration. This on top of the wording of an "esoteric rite" it could be so much as a prayer in the heart of the warlock, unseen, unheard, and requiring nothing else. this makes it a free action free of draw backs RAW. Dms can rule as they please but any restriction that isnt raw essentially renders this useless because theres no reason any reasonable player would take a long rest for HALF their spells versus a short rest for ALL their spells.
It's not a "free action free of drawbacks RAW". The nature of invoking it in combat is undefined. And, frankly, pretty much irrelevant. A one-minute activity in combat just doesn't happen. If it's actually relevant, the DM can make the call, but classing a "rite" as a free action is unlikely to be most DM's rulings, though you can rule it that way if you want.