So, someone on my DnD chat mentioned the (fallen) Aasimar Necrotic Shroud;
Necrotic Shroud
Starting at 3rd level, you can use your action to unleash the divine energy within yourself, causing your eyes to turn into pools of darkness and two skeletal, ghostly, flightless wings to sprout from your back. The instant you transform, other creatures within 10 feet of you that can see you must each succeed on a Charisma saving throw (DC 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier) or become frightened of you until the end of your next turn.
Your transformation lasts for 1 minute or until you end it as a bonus action. During it, once on each of your turns, you can deal extra necrotic damage to one target when you deal damage to it with an attack or a spell. The extra necrotic damage equals your level.
Once you use this trait, you can’t use it again until you finish a long rest
Note that the wording is VERY similar to hex that when you deal damage to a target with an attack (or spell) you can apply extra necrotic damage and we all universally agree that hex applies to EACH individual eldritch beam.
So that being said does 20 extra necrotic damage (at level 20) apply to EACH beam doing 1d10+1d6(hex)+5(cha)+20(shroud) FOUR TIMES?? (or 8 with quicken/illusion bracers, or 12 with action surge??)
The predominate DM said he's automatically ruling no but RAW shouldn't it go through? Can't find anything else online that even mentions it.
Eh! At level 20 everything is broken so why the heck not? It's only once per day so it's not going to help in subsequent combats, nor against multiple targets (noting it says "one" enemy).
No, RAW it doesn't work 4 times per turn. It applies "once on each of your turns" - once. So yea you don't get +80 damage with 4 eldritch blasts, you get +20. that is still not bad, but pretty balanced considering you used an action to use the ability.
(Note that Hex does apply once per ATTACK not once per TURN.)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, someone on my DnD chat mentioned the (fallen) Aasimar Necrotic Shroud;
Necrotic Shroud
Starting at 3rd level, you can use your action to unleash the divine energy within yourself, causing your eyes to turn into pools of darkness and two skeletal, ghostly, flightless wings to sprout from your back. The instant you transform, other creatures within 10 feet of you that can see you must each succeed on a Charisma saving throw (DC 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier) or become frightened of you until the end of your next turn.
Your transformation lasts for 1 minute or until you end it as a bonus action. During it, once on each of your turns, you can deal extra necrotic damage to one target when you deal damage to it with an attack or a spell. The extra necrotic damage equals your level.
Once you use this trait, you can’t use it again until you finish a long rest
Note that the wording is VERY similar to hex that when you deal damage to a target with an attack (or spell) you can apply extra necrotic damage and we all universally agree that hex applies to EACH individual eldritch beam.
So that being said does 20 extra necrotic damage (at level 20) apply to EACH beam doing 1d10+1d6(hex)+5(cha)+20(shroud) FOUR TIMES?? (or 8 with quicken/illusion bracers, or 12 with action surge??)
The predominate DM said he's automatically ruling no but RAW shouldn't it go through? Can't find anything else online that even mentions it.
Rules as written, I guess it would.
Eh! At level 20 everything is broken so why the heck not? It's only once per day so it's not going to help in subsequent combats, nor against multiple targets (noting it says "one" enemy).
That one enemy is just super dead.
No, RAW it doesn't work 4 times per turn. It applies "once on each of your turns" - once. So yea you don't get +80 damage with 4 eldritch blasts, you get +20. that is still not bad, but pretty balanced considering you used an action to use the ability.
(Note that Hex does apply once per ATTACK not once per TURN.)