I have a level 13 artificer/wizard (4/9) who has access to lvl 5 spells and a single level 6 spellslot. My DMs are allowing me to choose 3 level 6 spells to add to my character. When I go to my spellbook, I can only select up to level 5 wizard spells to add to my spellbook. How do I go about adding the 3 level 6 spells I've chosen?
I have a level 13 artificer/wizard (4/9) who has access to lvl 5 spells and a single level 6 spellslot. My DMs are allowing me to choose 3 level 6 spells to add to my character. When I go to my spellbook, I can only select up to level 5 wizard spells to add to my spellbook. How do I go about adding the 3 level 6 spells I've chosen?
Thanks.
D&D Beyond doesn't directly support this because it is outside the normal rules of D&D.
Under normal D&D rules you would need to have 11 levels in a full-caster class like Wizard to gain access to 6th-level spells. While in your situation you would have a 6th-level spell slot, you can't actually prepare any 6th-level spells; you can only use that spell slot for upcasting lower-level spells. This specific situation is described in the Player's Handbook section on multiclassing; it's kind of frustrating but it's how the math works out.
Your DM can, of course, rule that things work differently in your game. But the official toolsets like D&D Beyond have very limited support for doing things outside the official rules.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi.
I have a level 13 artificer/wizard (4/9) who has access to lvl 5 spells and a single level 6 spellslot. My DMs are allowing me to choose 3 level 6 spells to add to my character. When I go to my spellbook, I can only select up to level 5 wizard spells to add to my spellbook. How do I go about adding the 3 level 6 spells I've chosen?
Thanks.
D&D Beyond doesn't directly support this because it is outside the normal rules of D&D.
Under normal D&D rules you would need to have 11 levels in a full-caster class like Wizard to gain access to 6th-level spells. While in your situation you would have a 6th-level spell slot, you can't actually prepare any 6th-level spells; you can only use that spell slot for upcasting lower-level spells. This specific situation is described in the Player's Handbook section on multiclassing; it's kind of frustrating but it's how the math works out.
Your DM can, of course, rule that things work differently in your game. But the official toolsets like D&D Beyond have very limited support for doing things outside the official rules.
pronouns: he/she/they