Can a Wizard who takes the School of Conjuration use Minor Conjuration to create his Arcane Focus? If it only took a bonus action instead of an action, I’d do that with my Wizard who just hit 2nd level just for the role playing effect, but giving up a full round in every combat is a pretty significant cost considering that he’s already carrying his arcane focus anyway. I’m thinking about emergency situations where he loses everything and he needs to cast spells with material components before he can replace it.
The rules don’t say that a Wizard has to attune to his arcane focus which is why I think that it’s possible since the items conjured only last for an hour.
I think the only holdup with that would be if you deem the Arcane Focus magical itself or if it is simply a lens for magic. If it's the latter then I don't see why Minor Conjuration wouldn't work. If it's the former then it explicitly won't work.
Acane Foci are are located under the mundane equipment in the PHB and Basic Rules.
The Minor Conjuration last 1 hour, so you should be able to summon any of the Arcane Foci, except maybe Staff because of the 3 foot limit. Remember though that it glows magically with dim light for 5', so it's not going to be subtle or stealthy.
Agreed, it will be very obvious. But when the choices are either having a glowing, "I'm a wizard, target me" sign in your hand or not be able to cast a spell that you need to cast, that bullseye in flashing neon lights is the better of the two options.
I think that an Arcane Focus is more an item that is "enchanted" (rods, staves, wands) or made of a material that is naturally conducive to magical casting (crystals and orbs).
You would have to get/make a DM ruling... but it could work. It might be an easier sell if your character makes AFs (profession or downtime activity). But just out of nowhere... I don't think it would work.
I would 5hink your wizard would need to have a firm understanding in arcane focuses in order to pull this off. I do think it's a really cool idea and if your DM allows it, go for it. I like to see how creative people get with their focus.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can a Wizard who takes the School of Conjuration use Minor Conjuration to create his Arcane Focus? If it only took a bonus action instead of an action, I’d do that with my Wizard who just hit 2nd level just for the role playing effect, but giving up a full round in every combat is a pretty significant cost considering that he’s already carrying his arcane focus anyway. I’m thinking about emergency situations where he loses everything and he needs to cast spells with material components before he can replace it.
The rules don’t say that a Wizard has to attune to his arcane focus which is why I think that it’s possible since the items conjured only last for an hour.
Professional computer geek
I think the only holdup with that would be if you deem the Arcane Focus magical itself or if it is simply a lens for magic. If it's the latter then I don't see why Minor Conjuration wouldn't work. If it's the former then it explicitly won't work.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Acane Foci are are located under the mundane equipment in the PHB and Basic Rules.
The Minor Conjuration last 1 hour, so you should be able to summon any of the Arcane Foci, except maybe Staff because of the 3 foot limit.
Remember though that it glows magically with dim light for 5', so it's not going to be subtle or stealthy.
Agreed, it will be very obvious. But when the choices are either having a glowing, "I'm a wizard, target me" sign in your hand or not be able to cast a spell that you need to cast, that bullseye in flashing neon lights is the better of the two options.
Professional computer geek
I think that an Arcane Focus is more an item that is "enchanted" (rods, staves, wands) or made of a material that is naturally conducive to magical casting (crystals and orbs).
You would have to get/make a DM ruling... but it could work. It might be an easier sell if your character makes AFs (profession or downtime activity). But just out of nowhere... I don't think it would work.
I would 5hink your wizard would need to have a firm understanding in arcane focuses in order to pull this off. I do think it's a really cool idea and if your DM allows it, go for it. I like to see how creative people get with their focus.