This is for the high level Divination wizards. You get "The Third Eye" ability as a 10th level Divination Wizard. I cam across some Runes that Comprehend Languages could not read.
Comprehend Languages includes this line: "This spell doesn't decode secret messages in a text or a glyph, such as an arcane sigil, that isn't part of a written language."
Third Eye, Greater Comprehension says:
"Greater Comprehension. You can read any language."
I was told that the Runes were "arcane sigils" as it was on a wand case, it is most likely the command word for the wand, and an Identify spell failed to work on the wand because the Wand is from a different world where 'magic works differently'
What is the RAW and how would you rule it? Especially as I think RAW is uncertain. Keep in mind that any Wizard can cast any divination in 10 minutes as a Ritual if they know the spell and a 10th level Divination wizard will certainly know the first level spell Comprehend Languages.
So will the 10th level class ability allow me to read the runes or not?
Technically, you should be able to read anything that is written as part of a language. However, the "doesn't decode secret messages" part was probably put in there to enable DMs to still apply puzzles and such that include symbols as part of a challenge to the PCs or to get them to go on a sidequest to find the meaning. It sounds to me like the DM very intentionally did not want you to be able to jump this particular hurdle using your 10th level ability. Nevertheless, you might be able to convince them to part with a few more clues as to the runes' origin or symbology by pointing to this subclass feature.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
This is for the high level Divination wizards. You get "The Third Eye" ability as a 10th level Divination Wizard. I cam across some Runes that Comprehend Languages could not read.
Comprehend Languages includes this line: "This spell doesn't decode secret messages in a text or a glyph, such as an arcane sigil, that isn't part of a written language."
Third Eye, Greater Comprehension says:
" Greater Comprehension. You can read any language."
I was told that the Runes were "arcane sigils" as it was on a wand case, it is most likely the command word for the wand, and an Identify spell failed to work on the wand because the Wand is from a different world where 'magic works differently'
What is the RAW and how would you rule it? Especially as I think RAW is uncertain. Keep in mind that any Wizard can cast any divination in 10 minutes as a Ritual if they know the spell and a 10th level Divination wizard will certainly know the first level spell Comprehend Languages.
So will the 10th level class ability allow me to read the runes or not?
Technically, you should be able to read anything that is written as part of a language. However, the "doesn't decode secret messages" part was probably put in there to enable DMs to still apply puzzles and such that include symbols as part of a challenge to the PCs or to get them to go on a sidequest to find the meaning. It sounds to me like the DM very intentionally did not want you to be able to jump this particular hurdle using your 10th level ability. Nevertheless, you might be able to convince them to part with a few more clues as to the runes' origin or symbology by pointing to this subclass feature.