Gravity Well reads- You've learned how to manipulate gravity around a living being: whenever you cast a spell on a creature, you can move the target 5 feet to an unoccupied space of your choice if the target is willing to move, the spell hits it with an attack, or it fails a saving throw against the spell.
As I understand it, that would be for each time you cast a spell (such as Ray of Frost, or maybe Burning Hands). With Animate Objects, you get to use your bonus action to attack with 10 tiny things, battering a foe. Since it isn't you actually hitting them with the spell, you do not get to move them 5 feet for each hit you make with an Animate Object, right? You could potentially move someone 50 ft. with just your bonus action if that's the case.
To move a creature the spell must directly attack the target. Attacks from created servants, minions or summons will not count.
The other thing that invalidates the movement triggering from attacks made by animated objects is that Gravity Well only works when you cast a spell on a creature, and it only affects that creature - the target of the movement is the same as the target of the spell. Animate Objects is cast on an object, not a creature.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Gravity Well reads- You've learned how to manipulate gravity around a living being: whenever you cast a spell on a creature, you can move the target 5 feet to an unoccupied space of your choice if the target is willing to move, the spell hits it with an attack, or it fails a saving throw against the spell.
As I understand it, that would be for each time you cast a spell (such as Ray of Frost, or maybe Burning Hands). With Animate Objects, you get to use your bonus action to attack with 10 tiny things, battering a foe. Since it isn't you actually hitting them with the spell, you do not get to move them 5 feet for each hit you make with an Animate Object, right? You could potentially move someone 50 ft. with just your bonus action if that's the case.
Gravity well requires that you cast a spell on a creature - that is, you must cast a spell that targets said creature. Animate Objects targets objects and turns them into creatures, but it does not target creatures.
Gravity Well reads- You've learned how to manipulate gravity around a living being: whenever you cast a spell on a creature, you can move the target 5 feet to an unoccupied space of your choice if the target is willing to move, the spell hits it with an attack, or it fails a saving throw against the spell.
As I understand it, that would be for each time you cast a spell (such as Ray of Frost, or maybe Burning Hands). With Animate Objects, you get to use your bonus action to attack with 10 tiny things, battering a foe. Since it isn't you actually hitting them with the spell, you do not get to move them 5 feet for each hit you make with an Animate Object, right? You could potentially move someone 50 ft. with just your bonus action if that's the case.
To move a creature the spell must directly attack the target. Attacks from created servants, minions or summons will not count.
The other thing that invalidates the movement triggering from attacks made by animated objects is that Gravity Well only works when you cast a spell on a creature, and it only affects that creature - the target of the movement is the same as the target of the spell. Animate Objects is cast on an object, not a creature.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Emphasis mine:
Gravity well requires that you cast a spell on a creature - that is, you must cast a spell that targets said creature. Animate Objects targets objects and turns them into creatures, but it does not target creatures.
That's what I thought, I just needed to make sure. Thank you.