This pointed hat has the following properties.
Spellcasting Focus. While holding the hat, you can use it as a Spellcasting Focus for your Wizard spells. Any spell you cast using the hat gains a special Somatic component: you must reach into the hat and “pull” the spell out of it.
Unknown Spell. While holding the hat, you can try to cast a level 1+ spell you don’t know. The spell must be on the Wizard spell list, it must be of a level you can cast, and it can’t have Material components costing more than 1,000 GP. Once you decide on the spell, you must expend a spell slot of the spell’s level. Then, to determine whether you cast the spell, make an Intelligence (Arcana) check (DC 10 plus the spell’s level). On a successful check, you cast the spell using its normal casting time, and you can’t use this property again until you finish a Short or Long Rest. On a failed check, you fail to cast the spell and a random effect occurs instead, determined by rolling on the following table.
Any spell you cast from the hat uses your spell save DC and spell attack bonus.
1d100 | Effect |
---|---|
01–50 | You cast a random spell determined by rolling 1d10: on a 1, Enlarge/Reduce (enlarge effect); on a 2, Enlarge/Reduce (reduce effect); on a 3, Faerie Fire; on a 4, Fireball; on a 5, Gust of Wind; on a 6, Invisibility (cast on yourself); on a 7, Lightning Bolt; on an 8, Phantasmal Force; on a 9, Polymorph; on a 10, Stinking Cloud. |
51–55 | You have the Stunned condition until the end of your next turn, believing something awesome just happened. |
56–60 | A harmless swarm of butterflies fills a 10-foot Cube within 30 feet of yourself. The swarm disperses after 1 minute. |
61–65 | You pull a nonmagical object out of the hat. Roll 1d4 to determine the object: on a 1, a vial of Acid; on a 2, a flask of Alchemist’s Fire; on a 3, a Crowbar; on a 4, a lit Torch. |
66–70 | You suffer a bout of “magic sickness” and have the Poisoned condition for 1 hour. |
71–75 | You have the Petrified condition until the end of your next turn. |
76–80 | You pull a nonmagical object out of the hat. Roll 1d4 to determine the object: on a 1, a Dagger; on a 2, a Rope with a Grappling Hook tied to one end; on a 3, a bag of Caltrops; on a 4, a gem worth 50 GP. |
81–85 | A creature appears in an unoccupied space as close to you as possible. The creature isn’t under your control and acts as it normally would, and it disappears after 1 hour or when it drops to 0 Hit Points. Roll 1d4 to determine the creature: on a 1, a Camel; on a 2, a Constrictor Snake; on a 3, an Elephant; on a 4, a Mule. |
86–90 | A Hostile Swarm of Bats flies out of the hat, occupies your space, and attacks you. |
91–95 | A vertical, 10-foot-diameter, two-way portal to another plane of existence opens in an unoccupied space within 30 feet of you and remains open until the end of your next turn. The DM determines where it leads. |
96–00 | You pull a magic item out of the hat. Roll 1d6 to determine the item’s rarity: on a 1–3, Common; on a 4–5, Uncommon; on a 6, Rare. The DM chooses the item, which disappears after 1 hour if it’s not consumed or destroyed before then. |
Notes: Wizard
This makes me very happy. Presto.and his magic was my favorite part of the show when I was a kid.
This should be a Legendary item since it can potentially be a 9th level spell every short rest...
It uses your level 9 spell slot and doesn't include Astral Projection, Gate, Imprisonment, or Shapeshift due to costly components it also can't be a spell you already know which I believe includes ones in your spell book.
If you cast the spell through the hat can you ingnore spell components for up to a thousand gold? Or do you still need to provide them?
It still uses your spell slot whether or not you succeed in casting the spell, which balances it. Also, casting a spell you don't know while still expending the spell slot with the chance for something bad to happen isn't that powerful.
I'm on the fence about the "spell you don't know." part of this item, meaning a spell you don't have written down in the spellbook, since those are the spells a wizard "knows".
On the one hand, a DM could just give the hat out rather than always providing spellbooks and scrolls for a wizard player to copy.
On the other, It kind of disincentivizes collecting spells for wizard. A lot of spells are nice to have access to in a pinch, but are rarely prepared. Now, it's better not to learn them if you have the hat. Seems counter intuitive for a wizard specific item to favor not learning spells on the class that is about learning spells.
I get there is kind of an inverse value here. The more spells you learn, the less you need the hat. But that isn't exactly "fun", even if it is somewhat balanced. Then consider that you can lose your spellbook, so technically you no longer "know" any spells at all.
A lost or stolen book has to be replaced, and outside of your prepared spells, you have to collect them all again. So barring a backup spellbook (which likely isn't on your person), those spells aren't known anymore. So then what constitutes loss? If the spellbook isn't accessible at the time of casting? Does leaving the spellbook at home make the hat more effective?
My interpretation is that you do not need the components. Spells cast from magic items still require concentration like normal, but I don't believe they require components. It also says that you have to make an Arcana check to determine whether or not you cast the spell and it specifically says the spell casting takes the normal amount of time (which overrides the normal rules for magic items regarding casting time) but it doesn't make any mention of overriding the normal rules for component costs for spells cast by magic items other than setting a limit on the spell.
That's correct. Under 2024 rules, when casting a spell from a magic item, it does not require any components unless the item description says they do. This one says it overrides the somatic component, but not anything else. However, this doesn't apply to just casting spells normally using the hat as a spellcasting focus (which isn't casting the spell "from" the item) but only to the second part that allows casting a spell you don't actually know.
...Can i just spend as many spell slots as I want if I choose to fail the Arcana check and just turn this hat into a Wild Magic chaos machine?