This rod has a flanged head, and it functions as a magic mace that grants a +3 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it. The rod has properties associated with six different buttons that are set in a row along the haft. It has three other properties as well, detailed below.
Six Buttons. You can press one of the rod's six buttons as a bonus action. A button's effect lasts until you push a different button or until you push the same button again, which causes the rod to revert to its normal form.
If you press button 1, the rod becomes a flame tongue, as a fiery blade sprouts from the end opposite the rod's flanged head (you choose the type of sword).
If you press button 2, the rod's flanged head folds down and two crescent-shaped blades spring out, transforming the rod into a magic battleaxe that grants a +3 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it.
If you press button 3, the rod's flanged head folds down, a spear point springs from the rod's tip, and the rod's handle lengthens into a 6-foot haft, transforming the rod into a magic spear that grants a +3 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it.
If you press button 4, the rod transforms into a climbing pole up to 50 feet long, as you specify. In surfaces as hard as granite, a spike at the bottom and three hooks at the top anchor the pole. Horizontal bars 3 inches long fold out from the sides, 1 foot apart, forming a ladder. The pole can bear up to 4,000 pounds. More weight or lack of solid anchoring causes the rod to revert to its normal form.
If you press button 5, the rod transforms into a handheld battering ram and grants its user a +10 bonus to Strength checks made to break through doors, barricades, and other barriers.
If you press button 6, the rod assumes or remains in its normal form and indicates magnetic north. (Nothing happens if this function of the rod is used in a location that has no magnetic north.) The rod also gives you knowledge of your approximate depth beneath the ground or your height above it.
Drain Life. When you hit a creature with a melee attack using the rod, you can force the target to make a DC 17 Constitution saving throw. On a failure, the target takes an extra 4d6 necrotic damage, and you regain a number of hit points equal to half that necrotic damage. This property can't be used again until the next dawn.
Paralyze. When you hit a creature with a melee attack using the rod, you can force the target to make a DC 17 Strength saving throw. On a failure, the target is paralyzed for 1 minute. The target can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on a success. This property can't be used again until the next dawn.
Terrify. While holding the rod, you can use an action to force each creature you can see within 30 feet of you to make a DC 17 Wisdom saving throw. On a failure, a target is frightened of you for 1 minute. A frightened target can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success. This property can't be used again until the next dawn.
Notes: Damage, Control, Utility, Exploration, Combat







-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 16, 2018This doesn't show me any fuctions on my character even after it was attuned to can this please get fixed so it can be easier than hafting to switch back and forth between item and actions
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 26, 2018till it gets fixed I just grabbed all the weapons that it can be. none of them require attunement so that at least works out. cant help with the other effects though
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 19, 2019Can you only use one per day? Or can you use all 3 at different times once per day
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 29, 2020i think once per day each
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 21, 2020Does the Flame Tongue get the +3 to hit and damage?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 22, 2020No. It's a flame tongue magic item with no extra bonus
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 23, 2020I really do hope that someone on here can help me out! I'm a lvl8 rogue and I was eating dinner with a certain person lets just call the area I was in is hell so we can save spoilers from those who do not want to know them. Needless to say I made a serious deal to get a really nice weapon and this is the one I got. At first glace I was so very happy and excited for getting this but the next day after I thought about it it kinda sucks for me. I'm a assassination rogue and the only for I can wield it in is in flame tongue and that screws me in a few ways. I don't get any of the +3 bonus and the flame puts out light so I can't stealth because of it and let not mention just about every monster where I am at is resistant or immune to fire so the 2d6 sucks there and lets not forget I normally use my bonus action to stealth again. Please if anyone at all on can think of some good was for me to use this in stead of just having a ladder and a compass that always tells me north and a ram that give plus 10 to str checks. I looked in phb and mace had no listing as finess or versitile or anything can I use it like that maby?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 24, 2020I think theres a feat that would at least give you profficiency in your choice of 4 weapons so you could gain those to at least be able to add profficiency next time you're able to take a feat
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 26, 2020Just give it to your party's tank.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 2, 2020The particular arrangement the poster describe binds the rod to the player and his descendant's only. So he's stuck with it, literally damned to it (if the text editor allows me to use that word, it's contextually accurate).
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 27, 2020No, all forms get the +3 bonus, drain life, paralyze, and terrify. It is one of the most OP magic items!
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 3, 2020The flame tongue definitely does not. It specifies "magic mace that grants a +3 bonus", "magic battleaxe that grants a +3 bonus", and "magic spear that grants a +3 bonus". It details that bonus for each and every weapon type, except flame tongue. You can choose between the increased accuracy and flat damage or the bonus flame damage. Definitely a tradeoff that invites some thought and strategy.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 12, 2021I think you just got played by the devil, and by extension the DM. The best use would be to use would be to keep it as a flame tongue short sword with the flames off. It still counts as a magical weapon for overcoming resistances and you can still use it to Drain Life, Paralyze, and Terrify.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Feb 1, 2021Ok so I gave this Item to one of my players, and because of the vague description of the item, I need to ask does a person count as a barrier, cause technically a barrier would be anything stopping you doing something??
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 16, 2021It's a bit late, but a person is not a barrier in the literal sense, which is what the rod would help you break through. In DnD terms, I'd generally specify that to be a barrier, it'd have to be an object, not a creature.
If they really wanted to use it for that, and you really wanted to let them, you could let them apply the bonus to trying to shove them out of their way. That would normally be a Strength (Athletics) check on their part, so it'd make sense, but it's not exactly what a battering ram is designed for.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 10, 2021Is this a good choice for a level 20 monk? Can the monk use the different forms of weapon (mace, sword, battleaxe, spear) as a monk weapon?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 13, 20218 basic weapons all put together with BA to swipswap.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 13, 2021Negatory; +3 Bonus does not apply to everything that recieves Drain Life/Paralyze/Terrify
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 1, 2022Has there been an errata or update about this weapon? Is this an intended function, or a glitch overlooked by developers?
*Paralyze:
When you hit a creature with a melee Attack using the rod, you can force the target to make a DC 17 *Strength saving throw. On a failure, the target is Paralyzed for 1 minute. The target can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, Ending the Effect on a success. This property can't be used again until the next dawn.
*Paralyzed creatures “automatically fail strength and dexterity savings throws”
The rod is really effective at keeping creatures Paralyzed if you look at it by pure RaW standards, but I don't think that particular interaction is RaI.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 13, 2022I know this is a bit belated and I am just now learning the game, so someone please correct me if I'm wrong, but couldn't our Rogue here specify the Flame tongue appears as a dagger (ie like a Parry Dagger avg blade length 19in) & then speak the command word to quench the flames. The dagger would stay in form until a button was pressed, and still let our friend stealth around with a magic ladder & battering ram in hand (literally).
Is there something I missed in my rule review that would preclude this from working?