Level
Cantrip
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
60 ft.
(5 ft. )
Components
V, S
Duration
Concentration
1 Minute
School
Conjuration
Attack/Save
DEX Save
Damage/Effect
Fire
You create a bonfire on ground that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the magic bonfire fills a 5-foot cube. Any creature in the bonfire’s space when you cast the spell must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or take 1d8 fire damage. A creature must also make the saving throw when it moves into the bonfire’s space for the first time on a turn or ends its turn there.
The bonfire ignites flammable objects in its area that aren’t being worn or carried.
The spell’s damage increases by 1d8 when you reach 5th level (2d8), 11th level (3d8), and 17th level (4d8).







-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 5, 2018cool
also, first
lol
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 24, 2018I am unable to find this in my spellbook cards (Arcane). Is this just me? It is the official version.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 15, 2018It's not in the spellbook cards because this is part of Xanathar's Guide to Everything, published after the cards.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 2, 2018When using this spell outside of battle, how malleable is the area of effect? For instance could i create a letter shaped fire if the over all volume was still 5 ft cubed?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 27, 2019Beyond the 5 ft does it creat heat or light?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 31, 2019Ouch!
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 31, 2019Useless out of combat as is.
I would house rule it to be as written when casted in combat. When casted outside combat it would last 2h. Only one can exist at a time.
Enough for the camp
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 17, 2019Ignites Objects that are not being worn or carried, if you are casting it on a pile of wood, then it creates a campfire/bonfire, otherwise its just making a large magical flame that sits there
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 16, 2019You could could use this spell, and have someone else use Booming Blade to force an enemy into a lose/lose situation.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 27, 2019maybe use control flames intead?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 25, 2020Or quicken this with a booming blade as a sorcerer!
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 16, 2020You’re supposed to use it to light fires not make a long lasting campfire.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 16, 2020I love low level spells sometimes, they just feel so alive and immersive... Instead of those spells with huge explosions and dazzling effects. Yes they’re cool, but they don’t feel comfy.
imagine you’re on a long journey, tired and cold. You ride off the dirt road to make a camp in the forest. You sit down, and your Dwarf friend Jorvad casts “Create Bonfire” over a pile of sticks. You stick your hands out to warm them up, and slowly... you drift off into sleep...
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 26, 2020So here's a zone question that I can't find any answer to, triggered by this spell:
I cast this on one square of a Giant Spider's 4 square token in LMoP last night. Call it the upper left square. Then the giant spider moved north one square, so now the fire is on its lower left square. Did this count as entering the zone for the first time that turn (since a different part of its body moved into the sqaure)? Or was "the creature" already "in" the zone, so no effect? [For speed, we ruled "no effect" and moved on.] The spider continued its movement north, so no, it did not end its turn with any part of its body in the Created Bonfire.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 16, 2020I presume the spider made a saving throw at the moment the spell was cast, and your question is whether it needs to make a second saving throw. Per the text of the spell: "Any creature in the bonfire’s space when you cast the spell must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or take 1d8
fire damage." (emphasis added)
Presuming the spider made a saving throw when the spell was first cast, I would agree with the ruling of your table. The only time it would make a second saving throw is if it ended a turn with part of its body still in the square, or if it completely left the area of the bonfire and later entered that square again. It doesn't sound either of those happened, so no need to roll a second saving throw.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 25, 2020One way this thing's decently strong is in how it occupies space. Half of a 5' cube is enough to cause damage, so it can threaten anyone passing through a 10' wide corridor or be cast directly between 2 adjacent creatures.
Check with your DM on whether or not spells or effects snap to squares on a map. If so, this trick will not work.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 13, 2020Could one send a wood chip into an enemy, and cast create bonfire inside them?
Asking for a friend...
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 5, 2020how big is a five feet cube?. It's only affect a square on the grid?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 22, 2020Yes, that's correct.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 6, 2021Has this question been answered?