Not sure if this is bug, or if I'm not reading the rules correctly for multiclassing, but my character if a 3/3 Fighter EK & War Wizard. This makes him a 6th or 4th lvl spellcaster?
Because, my reading of it, is that you combine the spell casting levels, so its either 3 wizard + 1 for the Eldtritch Knight = a 4th level spell caster, or if you consider the fighter now, as a whole a spell casting class, then a 6th lvl spell caster?
My character however, only has spell pre-generated slots for a 3rd lvl spell caster? Is this correct or is it a bug or is it something which I can customize?
"Your capacity for spellcasting depends partly on your combined levels in all your spellcasting classes and partly on your individual levels in those classes. Once you have the Spellcasting feature from more than one class, use the rules below. If you multiclass but have the Spellcasting feature from only one class, you follow the rules as described in that class." and bot the my Wizard Features & Eldritch Knight Features, contain this rule/feature.
By that logic you count as a 4th level spellcaster (3 from Wizard, 1 from Fighter EK) and should therefore have 4 lvl 1 spell slots and 3 lvl 2 spell slots available to you (source). If you have less than the above, there might indeed be something wrong with the calculations.
I'd suggest to post here a link to the character, so that mods can have a look and advise you better.
Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and wizard classes, half your levels (rounded down) in the paladin and ranger classes, and a third of your fighter or rogue levels (rounded down) if you have the Eldritch Knight or the Arcane Trickster feature. Use this total to determine your spell slots by consulting the Multiclass Spellcaster table.
Note that the only difference between 3rd level and 4th level is an additional level 2 spell slot.
If it doesn't seem to be working, please provide a link to your character sheet here and I'll take a look.
Hi folks,
Not sure if this is bug, or if I'm not reading the rules correctly for multiclassing, but my character if a 3/3 Fighter EK & War Wizard. This makes him a 6th or 4th lvl spellcaster?
Because, my reading of it, is that you combine the spell casting levels, so its either 3 wizard + 1 for the Eldtritch Knight = a 4th level spell caster, or if you consider the fighter now, as a whole a spell casting class, then a 6th lvl spell caster?
My character however, only has spell pre-generated slots for a 3rd lvl spell caster? Is this correct or is it a bug or is it something which I can customize?
Can anyone help?
Just to add, the rules from the PHB say
"Your capacity for spellcasting depends partly on your combined levels in all your spellcasting classes and partly on your individual levels in those classes. Once you have the Spellcasting feature from more than one class, use the rules below. If you multiclass but have the Spellcasting feature from only one class, you follow the rules as described in that class." and bot the my Wizard Features & Eldritch Knight Features, contain this rule/feature.
The "Spell Slots" section in the Multiclassing Spellcasting chapter clearly explains that EK and AT only add 1/3rd of their levels to any other spellcasting class to determine the total caster level.
By that logic you count as a 4th level spellcaster (3 from Wizard, 1 from Fighter EK) and should therefore have 4 lvl 1 spell slots and 3 lvl 2 spell slots available to you (source).
If you have less than the above, there might indeed be something wrong with the calculations.
I'd suggest to post here a link to the character, so that mods can have a look and advise you better.
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
I would expect to have the spell slots for a 4th level multiclass caster with that character.
The specific calculation is found here:
Note that the only difference between 3rd level and 4th level is an additional level 2 spell slot.
If it doesn't seem to be working, please provide a link to your character sheet here and I'll take a look.
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
Thank you, yes, I've checked and that's sorted it. I missed the 1/3 bit :)