When selecting Way of the Shadow, 4 spells at opened up for you (Darkness, Darkvision, Pass Without Trace, Silence). They are shown on the Character Sheet under 2nd level Spells and "AT WILL" casting gained by Shadow Arts.
The AT WILL is misleading as under FEATURES & TRAITS it is noted that it costs 2 KI to cast any of those spells, yet there is nowhere that automatically records or notes that other than that description in passing. It is up to the DM and/or PLAYER to mark the KI used or track the KI used relative to your KI available.
I see no way to officially CAST this spell from the Character Sheet. Shouldn't there be? And in so casting, shouldn't the KI slots show used until the next REST?
It isnt a bug (more of a missing feature). Spells either cost a spell slot or they don't. "At will" just indicates they dont cost a slot.
It is more disjointed than casting spells with a slot and a little more confusing. Monk's also have to track other Ki that they use. This is no different.
Maybe in the future the character sheet will be able to autodeduct Ki from all its uses.
I mean I don't understand why they cant do this, if you have a magic item such as Staff of Fire you can go to your spell sections and cast that spell using charges of your staff instead of spells.
I mean I don't understand why they cant do this, if you have a magic item such as Staff of Fire you can go to your spell sections and cast that spell using charges of your staff instead of spells.
Items were setup to have charges removed by spells. Classes (in the cases of ki and Sorcery points) were not.
It will probably be a feature in the future. And I hope it is. If they are going to automate anything, they are expected to automate everything.
We're having this same issue, with a player who is new to 5E. "At will" historically (and I believe still) means there is no cost, which is rather misleading. Agree there needs to be a Ki deduction option in the same way you deduct charges from an item. If they can't fully fix this immediately, hopefully they can at least get the wording right so it's not confusing.
At Will historically means there's no spell slot cost, not no cost at all. The wording is correct per the rules; any spell you can cast without using spell slots is 'at will'
By your definition all spells cast from items would be “at will” as there is no slot cost. But they clearly saw the logic of showing charge cost instead for item spells that require charges. The only item spells that say “at will” are the ones that have no charge cost and can be cast an unlimited number of times. Spells powered by Ki points should be no different.
By your definition all spells cast from items would be “at will” as there is no slot cost. But they clearly saw the logic of showing charge cost instead for item spells that require charges. The only item spells that say “at will” are the ones that have no charge cost and can be cast an unlimited number of times. Spells powered by Ki points should be no different.
It shouldn't be, but they haven't made spells able to treat Ki as charges, so this is how it is currently.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
When selecting Way of the Shadow, 4 spells at opened up for you (Darkness, Darkvision, Pass Without Trace, Silence). They are shown on the Character Sheet under 2nd level Spells and "AT WILL" casting gained by Shadow Arts.
The AT WILL is misleading as under FEATURES & TRAITS it is noted that it costs 2 KI to cast any of those spells, yet there is nowhere that automatically records or notes that other than that description in passing. It is up to the DM and/or PLAYER to mark the KI used or track the KI used relative to your KI available.
I see no way to officially CAST this spell from the Character Sheet. Shouldn't there be? And in so casting, shouldn't the KI slots show used until the next REST?
It isnt a bug (more of a missing feature). Spells either cost a spell slot or they don't. "At will" just indicates they dont cost a slot.
It is more disjointed than casting spells with a slot and a little more confusing. Monk's also have to track other Ki that they use. This is no different.
Maybe in the future the character sheet will be able to autodeduct Ki from all its uses.
I mean I don't understand why they cant do this, if you have a magic item such as Staff of Fire you can go to your spell sections and cast that spell using charges of your staff instead of spells.
Items were setup to have charges removed by spells. Classes (in the cases of ki and Sorcery points) were not.
It will probably be a feature in the future. And I hope it is. If they are going to automate anything, they are expected to automate everything.
We're having this same issue, with a player who is new to 5E. "At will" historically (and I believe still) means there is no cost, which is rather misleading. Agree there needs to be a Ki deduction option in the same way you deduct charges from an item. If they can't fully fix this immediately, hopefully they can at least get the wording right so it's not confusing.
At Will historically means there's no spell slot cost, not no cost at all. The wording is correct per the rules; any spell you can cast without using spell slots is 'at will'
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
By your definition all spells cast from items would be “at will” as there is no slot cost. But they clearly saw the logic of showing charge cost instead for item spells that require charges. The only item spells that say “at will” are the ones that have no charge cost and can be cast an unlimited number of times. Spells powered by Ki points should be no different.
It shouldn't be, but they haven't made spells able to treat Ki as charges, so this is how it is currently.