Looked at some existing threads. Want to make sure I understand one thing. The spell stored in the Spell-Storing Item has to be one that is cast with a casting time of 1 action. In other words, nothing with a casting time of 1 bonus action or 1 reaction or with a longer casting time. Is that correct?
Sorry for the thread necro, but I had a few things about this ability I wanted to clarify
1) The ability says the spell must come from the artificer spell list. Does this depend on if you have that spell prepared or not? The wording does not seem to imply that, but I want to check anyway
2) Do the spells you can choose from include those from your subclass? Those spells count as artificer spells for you, but are not actually ON the artificer spell list, per say.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews!Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!
1) The ability says the spell must come from the artificer spell list. Does this depend on if you have that spell prepared or not? The wording does not seem to imply that, but I want to check anyway
It actually says in brackets "(you needn’t have it prepared)", so it's any spell that you could prepare, it doesn't need to be prepared.
2) Do the spells you can choose from include those from your subclass? Those spells count as artificer spells for you, but are not actually ON the artificer spell list, per say.
While it's not very well defined, I believe the answer is yes; basically with standard spellcasting the only spells you can cast are those belonging to your spellcasting class, to cast anything else you need a feat, ability etc. that grants them somehow (or to multiclass etc.). Sub-class spells counting as artificer spells means they are being added to your list, but are always prepared (unlike warlock patron spells that are only added to the list).
So for a Battle Smith the artificer spell list is every spell that any other artificer can pick, plus the extra Battle Smith spells that they always have prepared.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Looked at some existing threads. Want to make sure I understand one thing. The spell stored in the Spell-Storing Item has to be one that is cast with a casting time of 1 action. In other words, nothing with a casting time of 1 bonus action or 1 reaction or with a longer casting time. Is that correct?
That is correct. Only spells with a casting time of 1 action are eligible.
So spells like absorb elements (reaction), expeditious retreat (bonus action) and snare (1 minute) can't be stored in the Spell-Storing Item.
Sorry for the thread necro, but I had a few things about this ability I wanted to clarify
1) The ability says the spell must come from the artificer spell list. Does this depend on if you have that spell prepared or not? The wording does not seem to imply that, but I want to check anyway
2) Do the spells you can choose from include those from your subclass? Those spells count as artificer spells for you, but are not actually ON the artificer spell list, per say.
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews! Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!
It actually says in brackets "(you needn’t have it prepared)", so it's any spell that you could prepare, it doesn't need to be prepared.
While it's not very well defined, I believe the answer is yes; basically with standard spellcasting the only spells you can cast are those belonging to your spellcasting class, to cast anything else you need a feat, ability etc. that grants them somehow (or to multiclass etc.). Sub-class spells counting as artificer spells means they are being added to your list, but are always prepared (unlike warlock patron spells that are only added to the list).
So for a Battle Smith the artificer spell list is every spell that any other artificer can pick, plus the extra Battle Smith spells that they always have prepared.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.