Basically, by the rules, the cannon is only activated by the artificer's bonus action. Whether or not it has a trigger is just fluff; other people can't take an action or bonus action to activate it.
That doesn't mean a DM couldn't make a little houserule or spot ruling that someone else could pull the trigger or whatever.
A handheld eldritch cannon is just a magical object
so ANYONE CAN USE THE CANNON WITH THERE BONUS ACTION.
just like anyone can use armorers thunder gauntlets or lighting launcher
BUT YOU SHOULD BE AWARE THAT THE ELDRITCH CANNON DOES NOT COUNT AS A WEAPON just a magic object.
so you dont add your modifier nor proficiencies.
...From the description of the Eldritch Cannon feature:
On each of your turns, you can take a bonus action to cause the cannon to activate if you are within 60 feet of it. As part of the same bonus action, you can direct the cannon to walk or climb up to 15 feet to an unoccupied space, provided it has legs.
The "you" here is the Artificer who created the Eldritch Cannon. Nobody else can activate it.
Your logic is akin to saying, since an Artificer with a Homunculus Servant can cast a spell with range of Touch through their homunculus, that anyone else in the party would be able to cast spells through the Artificer's homunculus. That's not a thing anyone else can do.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
A handheld eldritch cannon is just a magical object
so ANYONE CAN USE THE CANNON WITH THERE BONUS ACTION.
just like anyone can use armorers thunder gauntlets or lighting launcher
BUT YOU SHOULD BE AWARE THAT THE ELDRITCH CANNON DOES NOT COUNT AS A WEAPON just a magic object.
so you dont add your modifier nor proficiencies.
...From the description of the Eldritch Cannon feature:
On each of your turns, you can take a bonus action to cause the cannon to activate if you are within 60 feet of it. As part of the same bonus action, you can direct the cannon to walk or climb up to 15 feet to an unoccupied space, provided it has legs.
The "you" here is the Artificer who created the Eldritch Cannon. Nobody else can activate it.
Your logic is akin to saying, since an Artificer with a Homunculus Servant can cast a spell with range of Touch through their homunculus, that anyone else in the party would be able to cast spells through the Artificer's homunculus. That's not a thing anyone else can do.
Yeah specific beats general, even if it is a magic item and (some not all) magic items can be used by anyone.
if the eldritch cannon gave a way to activate it beyond the specific artillerest only bonus action, I would disagree. But it doesn’t. So the artillerist is the only one, unless the DM is in a houseruling mood.
To return to the original question: No, another character is not able to activate the cannon. It requires the Artificer's bonus action.
However, the Artificer does not need to be touching the cannon to activate it. You can totally put the cannon on another character's shoulder and activate with your bonus action from wherever you are (within 60ft of it).
A handheld eldritch cannon is just a magical object
so ANYONE CAN USE THE CANNON WITH THERE BONUS ACTION.
just like anyone can use armorers thunder gauntlets or lighting launcher
BUT YOU SHOULD BE AWARE THAT THE ELDRITCH CANNON DOES NOT COUNT AS A WEAPON just a magic object.
so you dont add your modifier nor proficiencies.
...From the description of the Eldritch Cannon feature:
On each of your turns, you can take a bonus action to cause the cannon to activate if you are within 60 feet of it. As part of the same bonus action, you can direct the cannon to walk or climb up to 15 feet to an unoccupied space, provided it has legs.
The "you" here is the Artificer who created the Eldritch Cannon. Nobody else can activate it.
Your logic is akin to saying, since an Artificer with a Homunculus Servant can cast a spell with range of Touch through their homunculus, that anyone else in the party would be able to cast spells through the Artificer's homunculus. That's not a thing anyone else can do.
No
its states the cannon is a magical object.
So? Not all magical objects can be used by everyone.
and the homunculus is conscious and has its own turn and dodges without you it listens to the creators commands
the cannon doesnt dodge only moves as bonus action and the cannon has no turn of its own
This is irrelevant.
YOU ARE COMPARING A GUN TO A CONSTRUCT CREATURE
No, they are comparing two different class features. Also, why the allcaps?
you make the creatures heart of the homunculus servant
This is also backed up by the Spell Storing Item specifically stating that any creature can use it, something that is omitted in the Eldritch Cannon description.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can someone else fire the Handheld Eldritch Cannon using their bonus action?
No, not by RAW. (Same for any form of Eldritch Cannon.)
What if the tiny version has a trigger?
also, what's RAW?
RAW: Rules As Written
Basically, by the rules, the cannon is only activated by the artificer's bonus action. Whether or not it has a trigger is just fluff; other people can't take an action or bonus action to activate it.
That doesn't mean a DM couldn't make a little houserule or spot ruling that someone else could pull the trigger or whatever.
Got it, Thank you!
With the creation of Eldritch Cannon could someone turn a staff or wand into an eldritch cannon?
...From the description of the Eldritch Cannon feature:
The "you" here is the Artificer who created the Eldritch Cannon. Nobody else can activate it.
Your logic is akin to saying, since an Artificer with a Homunculus Servant can cast a spell with range of Touch through their homunculus, that anyone else in the party would be able to cast spells through the Artificer's homunculus. That's not a thing anyone else can do.
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
Yeah specific beats general, even if it is a magic item and (some not all) magic items can be used by anyone.
if the eldritch cannon gave a way to activate it beyond the specific artillerest only bonus action, I would disagree. But it doesn’t. So the artillerist is the only one, unless the DM is in a houseruling mood.
To return to the original question: No, another character is not able to activate the cannon. It requires the Artificer's bonus action.
However, the Artificer does not need to be touching the cannon to activate it. You can totally put the cannon on another character's shoulder and activate with your bonus action from wherever you are (within 60ft of it).
Nice!
So? Not all magical objects can be used by everyone.
This is irrelevant.
No, they are comparing two different class features. Also, why the allcaps?
Again, irrelevant.
This is also backed up by the Spell Storing Item specifically stating that any creature can use it, something that is omitted in the Eldritch Cannon description.