I am wanting my Artillerist to be carried into battle by its Homunculus Servant. It would have something like Fluttering wings or vibro-wings and be like an insect form and use all 6 limbs to wrap or latch itself to the back of the Artillerist like a harness. If I give the Homunculus Servant gauntlets of ogre power or a better strength enhancing item to increase its carry weight limit, can I carry my Artificer? If I am able to would it count as mounted combat, allowing the artificer to benefit from the Homunculus' dodge and evasion since it would be carrying the PC? Since I would have the Mounted combat feat, if a enemy targeted the HS, my PC could take the hit instead depending on the circumstance. If I became incapacitated in the air, my HS could fly my PC to safety and administer aid with additional limbs for such a task. Think of a flying millipede reinforcing the artificer's spine attached to the back of the armor with its head sticking above his. I know it is a tiny creature so its carry capacity is halved.
There is nothing in the game that allows for attunement from anything other than PCs, and most all DMs would rule that a Homunculus Servant would not be able to.
Whether most/all DMs would rule that a Homunculus Servant could attune to magic items or not I can't say but the rules for Attunement make no specific mention of Player Characters.
They don't even specify creature type. They just specify creature. Individual magic items might be more specific but the base attunement rules only specify creature. Heck it even has rules for monsters and how they might qualify if they have the same class or use the same spell list for the prerequisite to attune to a specific item.
So RAW, PCs can attune to magic items because they are creatures, not because they are PCs. Whatever additional requirements a DM assigns to that are their choice of houserule (or might be due to Adventurer's League rules if it's an AL game).
So, the HS has a Str score of 4 (-3) and is tiny. This means that it can carry all of 30 lbs. So unless you are somehow also tiny, no it cannot carry you.
This is mostly true except for the last bit. You can carry anything you can carry based on its weight, not its size; where size generally comes up is for using the mounted combat or grappling rules to move a fellow creature. If your DM wants to use those, an HS can't carry any mounted riders, as a mount has to be larger than its riders, and it can grapple-carry a Small or Tiny creature.
Gauntlets of Ogre Power require attunement. There is nothing in the game that allows for attunement from anything other than PCs, and most all DMs would rule that a Homunculus Servant would not be able to. Additionally, the rules of Mounted Combat say that any mount must be one size larger than you (the HS at best is one size smaller).
This is incorrect. The rules for attunement absolutely do apply to NPCs and always have, and it is both common and typical for PCs with subclass-granted companions to look into magic items for their companions, including ones that must be attuned.
I am wanting my Artillerist to be carried into battle by its Homunculus Servant. It would have something like Fluttering wings or vibro-wings and be like an insect form and use all 6 limbs to wrap or latch itself to the back of the Artillerist like a harness. If I give the Homunculus Servant gauntlets of ogre power or a better strength enhancing item to increase its carry weight limit, can I carry my Artificer?
See above - hard no on using the mounted combat rules (Tiny mounts can't carry riders of any size), but using the grappling rules then yes provided you're Small or Tiny and have a low enough weight; your DM may also elect not to use the grappling rules, in which case it's just a weight question.
With the gauntlets, the HS can carry 142.5 pounds max, although if your DM is using variant encumbrance the light and medium thresholds are 47.5 and 95 pounds, respectively.
If I am able to would it count as mounted combat, allowing the artificer to benefit from the Homunculus' dodge and evasion since it would be carrying the PC?
Not only is this no to mounted combat, but also Evasion never applies to a mount's rider just because the mount has it. Likewise, when a mount dodges, the rider gets no direct benefit.
Since I would have the Mounted combat feat, if a enemy targeted the HS, my PC could take the hit instead depending on the circumstance.
Not gonna happen. The general solution to this is to be a Small Artificer riding your Medium Defender.
If I became incapacitated in the air, my HS could fly my PC to safety and administer aid with additional limbs for such a task.
If you're incapacitated, the homunculus decides for itself what to do.
How about the spell levitate. You would essentially be weightless and the homunculus could just pull you along on a rope. The DM might rule that it can only go half speed due to carrying a person but they can’t say the homunculus would have no effect on you.
You know, if you have a warlock to the Genie, and they’re at a high enough level, you can fit your entire party in their lamp. If you leave the homunculus outside, a flying construct that cannot become exhausted, you would essentially have an airship wouldn’t you.
I am wanting my Artillerist to be carried into battle by its Homunculus Servant. It would have something like Fluttering wings or vibro-wings and be like an insect form and use all 6 limbs to wrap or latch itself to the back of the Artillerist like a harness. If I give the Homunculus Servant gauntlets of ogre power or a better strength enhancing item to increase its carry weight limit, can I carry my Artificer? If I am able to would it count as mounted combat, allowing the artificer to benefit from the Homunculus' dodge and evasion since it would be carrying the PC? Since I would have the Mounted combat feat, if a enemy targeted the HS, my PC could take the hit instead depending on the circumstance. If I became incapacitated in the air, my HS could fly my PC to safety and administer aid with additional limbs for such a task. Think of a flying millipede reinforcing the artificer's spine attached to the back of the armor with its head sticking above his. I know it is a tiny creature so its carry capacity is halved.
I hope I have made this question clear.
Thank you
Whether most/all DMs would rule that a Homunculus Servant could attune to magic items or not I can't say but the rules for Attunement make no specific mention of Player Characters.
They don't even specify creature type. They just specify creature. Individual magic items might be more specific but the base attunement rules only specify creature. Heck it even has rules for monsters and how they might qualify if they have the same class or use the same spell list for the prerequisite to attune to a specific item.
So RAW, PCs can attune to magic items because they are creatures, not because they are PCs. Whatever additional requirements a DM assigns to that are their choice of houserule (or might be due to Adventurer's League rules if it's an AL game).
This is mostly true except for the last bit. You can carry anything you can carry based on its weight, not its size; where size generally comes up is for using the mounted combat or grappling rules to move a fellow creature. If your DM wants to use those, an HS can't carry any mounted riders, as a mount has to be larger than its riders, and it can grapple-carry a Small or Tiny creature.
This is incorrect. The rules for attunement absolutely do apply to NPCs and always have, and it is both common and typical for PCs with subclass-granted companions to look into magic items for their companions, including ones that must be attuned.
See above - hard no on using the mounted combat rules (Tiny mounts can't carry riders of any size), but using the grappling rules then yes provided you're Small or Tiny and have a low enough weight; your DM may also elect not to use the grappling rules, in which case it's just a weight question.
With the gauntlets, the HS can carry 142.5 pounds max, although if your DM is using variant encumbrance the light and medium thresholds are 47.5 and 95 pounds, respectively.
Not only is this no to mounted combat, but also Evasion never applies to a mount's rider just because the mount has it. Likewise, when a mount dodges, the rider gets no direct benefit.
Not gonna happen. The general solution to this is to be a Small Artificer riding your Medium Defender.
If you're incapacitated, the homunculus decides for itself what to do.
In a pinch, you could cast Reduce on yourself. As long as you weigh less than 240 lbs with all your gear, the homunculus should be able to carry you.
How about the spell levitate. You would essentially be weightless and the homunculus could just pull you along on a rope. The DM might rule that it can only go half speed due to carrying a person but they can’t say the homunculus would have no effect on you.
You know, if you have a warlock to the Genie, and they’re at a high enough level, you can fit your entire party in their lamp. If you leave the homunculus outside, a flying construct that cannot become exhausted, you would essentially have an airship wouldn’t you.
30ft flying speed, + inexhaustible dash action, = 60ft per round constantly
You wouldn’t be too noticeable either if the bottle and homonculous weren’t shiny.