I thought I had seen somewhere on here that you could use the Radiant Weapon infusion on the Thunder Gauntlets created by the Armorer's Guardian armor. Now that I'm finally level 6 I tried it and D&D Beyond doesn't seem to give me that option. Is that something that doesn't work in Beyond currently or was that someone's "house rule" that allowed that?
1) Armorer can only infuse non-magical items. The arcane armor for the Armorer Artificer is not magical (including the thunder gauntlets or the lightning launcher and can be infused).
2) At level 9, the armorer can treat the boots, gloves/gauntlets, helm and central armor portions of the arcane armor as separate items for infusing. Before level 9, the armorer can apply one infusion to the armor.
3) The gauntlets are part of the armor. Prior to level 9, the armorer can apply the radiant weapon infusion to the gauntlets that are part of the armor. They can not, however, apply any other infusion to the armor to the armor since the gauntlets are part of the arcane armor. At level 9 and above, the pieces can be infused separately.
4) The REAL arguments start when the level 14 armorer artificer wants to apply the Arcane Propulsion Armor infusion to the Arcane Armor chest/armor piece with Thunder gauntlets. Some DMs decide that the two effects can't stack, others decide that they do. The rules give no indication that they would not stack since thunder gauntlets do d8 thunder damage and the gauntlets from the Arcane Propulsion Armor infusion do d8 force and nothing states that the effects are mutually exclusive but different DMs, different rulings.
From a balance perspective, a paladin gets improved divine smite at level 11 which adds a d8 radiant damage to every attack - so adding d8 force damage to the gauntlets really doesn't break anything compared to other half caster martial classes.
However, it is a DM call as to whether they would stack.
I thought I had seen somewhere on here that you could use the Radiant Weapon infusion on the Thunder Gauntlets created by the Armorer's Guardian armor. Now that I'm finally level 6 I tried it and D&D Beyond doesn't seem to give me that option. Is that something that doesn't work in Beyond currently or was that someone's "house rule" that allowed that?
Pretty sure you can only infuse non-magical items. In such a regard, wouldn't your Thunder Gauntlets count as magical already?
Nothing in the description of the armorers “armor model” feature says that any of the features are magical. It says “special” benefits.
the “arcane armor” feature describes the armor becoming a conduit for your magic, but doesn’t say the armor is magical itself.
if the features made your armor magical then you wouldn’t be able to infuse it at all. You cannot infuse already magical items.
the only inherently magical features I saw were the level 15 features that augmented the “guardian” and “infiltrator” features gained at level 3.
A couple comments.
1) Armorer can only infuse non-magical items. The arcane armor for the Armorer Artificer is not magical (including the thunder gauntlets or the lightning launcher and can be infused).
2) At level 9, the armorer can treat the boots, gloves/gauntlets, helm and central armor portions of the arcane armor as separate items for infusing. Before level 9, the armorer can apply one infusion to the armor.
3) The gauntlets are part of the armor. Prior to level 9, the armorer can apply the radiant weapon infusion to the gauntlets that are part of the armor. They can not, however, apply any other infusion to the armor to the armor since the gauntlets are part of the arcane armor. At level 9 and above, the pieces can be infused separately.
4) The REAL arguments start when the level 14 armorer artificer wants to apply the Arcane Propulsion Armor infusion to the Arcane Armor chest/armor piece with Thunder gauntlets. Some DMs decide that the two effects can't stack, others decide that they do. The rules give no indication that they would not stack since thunder gauntlets do d8 thunder damage and the gauntlets from the Arcane Propulsion Armor infusion do d8 force and nothing states that the effects are mutually exclusive but different DMs, different rulings.
From a balance perspective, a paladin gets improved divine smite at level 11 which adds a d8 radiant damage to every attack - so adding d8 force damage to the gauntlets really doesn't break anything compared to other half caster martial classes.
However, it is a DM call as to whether they would stack.