My artificer is at level 11 and I thinking about what spell to use for my spell storing items. The text says you can store a 1st or 2nd level spell in a weapon or spell casting focus.
My query is could one store a 2nd Level Cure Wounds in the object?
No, you can store a spell of 1st or 2nd level but upcasting does not apply.
The Spell-Storing Item does not cast a spell with a spell slot nor does it store a spell as it is cast like a Ring of Spell Storing.
An upcast 2nd level Cure Wounds spell is a 2nd level spell. There is no language that restricts you from casting that or another upcast spell into a spell storing item, including a Ring of Spell Storing. The Ring of Spell Storing explicitly states: the level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses. You are reading rules that do not exist.
No, you can store a spell of 1st or 2nd level but upcasting does not apply.
The Spell-Storing Item does not cast a spell with a spell slot nor does it store a spell as it is cast like a Ring of Spell Storing.
An upcast 2nd level Cure Wounds spell is a 2nd level spell. There is no language that restricts you from casting that or another upcast spell into a spell storing item, including a Ring of Spell Storing. The Ring of Spell Storing explicitly states: the level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses. You are reading rules that do not exist.
You're talking about two different things.
This thread is about the level 11 Artificer class feature "Spell-Storing Item", which does not involve using a spell slot to store a spell in it, and therefore can't benefit from upcasting a spell.
You are talking about the magic item Ring of Spell Storing, which does involve using a spell slot to store a spell in it, and therefore can benefit from upcasting a spell.
These are two different things that work differently.
I was referring to the Ring of Spell Storing because that’s what the Artificer Spell-Storing Item was being compared to.
A Cure Wounds upcast to 2nd level is a 2nd level spell. When I go into my character sheet under 2nd level spells, there it is.
When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell takes on the higher level for that casting. For instance, if a Wizard casts Magic Missile using a level 2 slot, that Magic Missile is level 2. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.
You’re telling me the artificer spell-storing item operates differently than staves, scrolls, instruments, and all other spell storing items. I disagree.
If the artificer spell-storing item operates like a wizard signature spell, then why didn’t D&D Beyond use that simple straight forward implementation?
Regardless, show me a table where the artificer is breaking the game and not lagging severely behind. Try cutting the class a little slack.
A Cure Wounds upcast to 2nd level is a 2nd level spell. When I go into my character sheet under 2nd level spells, there it is.
When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell takes on the higher level for that casting. For instance, if a Wizard casts Magic Missile using a level 2 slot, that Magic Missile is level 2. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.
You’re telling me the artificer spell-storing item operates differently than staves, scrolls, instruments, and all other spell storing items. I disagree.
I'm telling you the Artificer's Spell-Storing Item works how the class feature description says it works, which is different from how a Ring of Spell Storing works. What the class feature says is:
Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one simple or martial weapon or one item that you can use as a spellcasting focus, and you store a spell in it, choosing a 1st- or 2nd-level spell from the artificer spell list that requires 1 action to cast (you needn’t have it prepared).
Unlike the Ring of Spell Storing, no spell slot is expended when you store a spell in a Spell-Storing Item, because you are not actually casting the spell. Since you are not using a spell slot, you do not get the benefits of using a higher-level spell slot. Yes, this is different from how some other items that store spells work. That's because it's a different thing, and sometimes different things work differently.
Without an official ruling, sage advice, or implementation in Beyond both interpretations are valid. If someone actually wants to play an artificer at my table, I’m going to give them the benefit of the doubt.
Without an official ruling, sage advice, or implementation in Beyond both interpretations are valid. If someone actually wants to play an artificer at my table, I’m going to give them the benefit of the doubt.
Of course. As a house rule, I think it's perfectly reasonable; it's just not what the rules actually say.
Your interpretation penalizes the ability of an already underpowered and severely underplayed class because the game designers didn’t force the artificer to burn a precious spell slot of a half caster after every long rest to create the item. That’s silly. 3580 posts later obviously you won’t quit. Whatever you say is RAW, dude.
I'm not doing any of those things; I'm just telling you what the rules say. I don't really have an opinion on whether that particular rule is a good one or not. If you don't like that particular rule and don't want to play with it, that's totally fine.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello all,
My artificer is at level 11 and I thinking about what spell to use for my spell storing items. The text says you can store a 1st or 2nd level spell in a weapon or spell casting focus.
My query is could one store a 2nd Level Cure Wounds in the object?
No, you can store a spell of 1st or 2nd level but upcasting does not apply.
The Spell-Storing Item does not cast a spell with a spell slot nor does it store a spell as it is cast like a Ring of Spell Storing.
An upcast 2nd level Cure Wounds spell is a 2nd level spell. There is no language that restricts you from casting that or another upcast spell into a spell storing item, including a Ring of Spell Storing. The Ring of Spell Storing explicitly states: the level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses. You are reading rules that do not exist.
You're talking about two different things.
This thread is about the level 11 Artificer class feature "Spell-Storing Item", which does not involve using a spell slot to store a spell in it, and therefore can't benefit from upcasting a spell.
You are talking about the magic item Ring of Spell Storing, which does involve using a spell slot to store a spell in it, and therefore can benefit from upcasting a spell.
These are two different things that work differently.
pronouns: he/she/they
I was referring to the Ring of Spell Storing because that’s what the Artificer Spell-Storing Item was being compared to.
A Cure Wounds upcast to 2nd level is a 2nd level spell. When I go into my character sheet under 2nd level spells, there it is.
When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell takes on the higher level for that casting. For instance, if a Wizard casts Magic Missile using a level 2 slot, that Magic Missile is level 2. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.
You’re telling me the artificer spell-storing item operates differently than staves, scrolls, instruments, and all other spell storing items. I disagree.
If the artificer spell-storing item operates like a wizard signature spell, then why didn’t D&D Beyond use that simple straight forward implementation?
Regardless, show me a table where the artificer is breaking the game and not lagging severely behind. Try cutting the class a little slack.
Yes, that's correct. No one is saying otherwise.
I'm telling you the Artificer's Spell-Storing Item works how the class feature description says it works, which is different from how a Ring of Spell Storing works. What the class feature says is:
Unlike the Ring of Spell Storing, no spell slot is expended when you store a spell in a Spell-Storing Item, because you are not actually casting the spell. Since you are not using a spell slot, you do not get the benefits of using a higher-level spell slot. Yes, this is different from how some other items that store spells work. That's because it's a different thing, and sometimes different things work differently.
pronouns: he/she/they
Without an official ruling, sage advice, or implementation in Beyond both interpretations are valid. If someone actually wants to play an artificer at my table, I’m going to give them the benefit of the doubt.
Of course. As a house rule, I think it's perfectly reasonable; it's just not what the rules actually say.
pronouns: he/she/they
Your interpretation penalizes the ability of an already underpowered and severely underplayed class because the game designers didn’t force the artificer to burn a precious spell slot of a half caster after every long rest to create the item. That’s silly. 3580 posts later obviously you won’t quit. Whatever you say is RAW, dude.
I'm not doing any of those things; I'm just telling you what the rules say. I don't really have an opinion on whether that particular rule is a good one or not. If you don't like that particular rule and don't want to play with it, that's totally fine.
pronouns: he/she/they