This is a question about the exact interaction between Flash of Genius/Ingenious Movement and an attack.
If multiple party members, not including yourself, are within the target of an AOE ability, can you use reaction: flash of genius on the roll to boost one player from a fail to a pass (or even waste this part of the skill to do nothing) then trigger the effect of Ingenious Movement to teleport a second player that would be hit by the AoE to a safe location (yourself), allowing you to completely protect a character from any attack that would require a saving throw? Or would the damage from the AoE happen before you could teleport them?
As far as I can tell nothing in Ingenious Movement requires the creature you teleport to be the same creature that benefits from Flash of Genius, so you are free to choose a different creature within range.
However there's also no text in the feature stating that teleporting a creature out of range lets you completely protect them from the effect that triggered the saving throw.
I think it's reasonable to allow since Flash of Genius applies its boost to the triggering saving throw, making the cause and effect roughly simultaneous, but I think it'd have to be a DM ruling.
It's worth noting that there's a rule on simultaneous effects that says that when two things happen "simultaneously", the person whose turn it is decides which one takes effect first. In this example, it's likely the turn of something or someone controlled by the DM. So, if these two things are happening simultaneously — the effects of the saving throw that triggered Flash of Genius, and the teleportation out of the area of effect — the DM gets to decide which one happens first.
But also I think I'd be inclined to generally rule that you can't use Ingenious Movement to sort of rewind time and make it so the saving throw that triggered Flash of Genius in the first place didn't happen at all anyway.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
This is a question about the exact interaction between Flash of Genius/Ingenious Movement and an attack.
If multiple party members, not including yourself, are within the target of an AOE ability, can you use reaction: flash of genius on the roll to boost one player from a fail to a pass (or even waste this part of the skill to do nothing) then trigger the effect of Ingenious Movement to teleport a second player that would be hit by the AoE to a safe location (yourself), allowing you to completely protect a character from any attack that would require a saving throw? Or would the damage from the AoE happen before you could teleport them?
As far as I can tell nothing in Ingenious Movement requires the creature you teleport to be the same creature that benefits from Flash of Genius, so you are free to choose a different creature within range.
However there's also no text in the feature stating that teleporting a creature out of range lets you completely protect them from the effect that triggered the saving throw.
I think it's reasonable to allow since Flash of Genius applies its boost to the triggering saving throw, making the cause and effect roughly simultaneous, but I think it'd have to be a DM ruling.
It's worth noting that there's a rule on simultaneous effects that says that when two things happen "simultaneously", the person whose turn it is decides which one takes effect first. In this example, it's likely the turn of something or someone controlled by the DM. So, if these two things are happening simultaneously — the effects of the saving throw that triggered Flash of Genius, and the teleportation out of the area of effect — the DM gets to decide which one happens first.
But also I think I'd be inclined to generally rule that you can't use Ingenious Movement to sort of rewind time and make it so the saving throw that triggered Flash of Genius in the first place didn't happen at all anyway.
pronouns: he/she/they