you can use it without drawing it, if you use it, its in some way in your hand right? Or is there some rule directly against this assumption? It makes sense you can't use anything not in your hand. It simply means that it isn't something that needs to be Drawn and the Stowed. Correct? I assume you still need an open hand-which I assume you need to use anything in 5E
So it feels quite useful for an Alchemist who needs to use their tools for the INT to damage/healing (and or casting in general). This lets you keep your hand open when not casting at the moment. So I could use a shield+open hand, which gets filled with acid/alch fire via the free action draw, or the Alch kit for the INT bonuses. Or it lets you use a Xbow and go one handed on rounds to cast-without having the trouble of drawing and stowing. etc.
Does this work like that, and if so, ya'll think its useful enough to hunt down or make in a not Acq Inc based game? (assuming its valid in your game)
any other neat magical items ya'll know for such a thing?
The Travel Alchemical Kit, as well as most every other magical item from Acquisitions Incorporated, is specifically tied to that book's corporate background. Obviously if your DM doesn't care, more power to ya. At that point though, it's Houserules City, and whatever you like/can convince your DM to run with is golden.
That said...the rules for it, strictly speaking, say you can use the kit without drawing/stowing it. Using the kit is different than casting artificer spells with the kit as a focus. The intent seems to be that the individual with the kit is sleight-of-handing materials and tools from their hidden toolkit to do their work, a bit like a street magician; I would argue that the same applies to trying to use it as a casting focus. You could potentially use it without Drawing/Stowing it, but you would have to keep your hand(s) free to do so. No two-fisting a pistol crossbow and a shield, then using this to say you're also using alchemist's tools.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please do not contact or message me.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, that Acqasition Inc Travel Alchemical Kit sounds amusing.
you can use it without drawing it, if you use it, its in some way in your hand right? Or is there some rule directly against this assumption? It makes sense you can't use anything not in your hand. It simply means that it isn't something that needs to be Drawn and the Stowed. Correct? I assume you still need an open hand-which I assume you need to use anything in 5E
So it feels quite useful for an Alchemist who needs to use their tools for the INT to damage/healing (and or casting in general). This lets you keep your hand open when not casting at the moment. So I could use a shield+open hand, which gets filled with acid/alch fire via the free action draw, or the Alch kit for the INT bonuses. Or it lets you use a Xbow and go one handed on rounds to cast-without having the trouble of drawing and stowing. etc.
Does this work like that, and if so, ya'll think its useful enough to hunt down or make in a not Acq Inc based game? (assuming its valid in your game)
any other neat magical items ya'll know for such a thing?
The Travel Alchemical Kit, as well as most every other magical item from Acquisitions Incorporated, is specifically tied to that book's corporate background. Obviously if your DM doesn't care, more power to ya. At that point though, it's Houserules City, and whatever you like/can convince your DM to run with is golden.
That said...the rules for it, strictly speaking, say you can use the kit without drawing/stowing it. Using the kit is different than casting artificer spells with the kit as a focus. The intent seems to be that the individual with the kit is sleight-of-handing materials and tools from their hidden toolkit to do their work, a bit like a street magician; I would argue that the same applies to trying to use it as a casting focus. You could potentially use it without Drawing/Stowing it, but you would have to keep your hand(s) free to do so. No two-fisting a pistol crossbow and a shield, then using this to say you're also using alchemist's tools.
Please do not contact or message me.