My friend is planning a 1 shot for us and a couple of other groups to see how different groups approach it.
Im intending to bring a human artificer artillerist with magic initiate wizard for a few extra utility cantrips and one level in warlock so I can recharge the spell slot for Eldritch Cannon.
In my arcane firearm/arcane focus I was planning to store the spell scorching ray. This would give me 10 uses of the spell by interacting with an object. With that wording, if I Haste myself I could use scorching ray twice in a turn plus the cannon. Plus getting the arcane firearm bonus. Does this seem legal?
AFAIK no. Haste won't give you another blast. " That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." is haste's wording. The item does give the ability to us an action to produce the spell. But it doesn't label it as a Use an Object action. The item itself gives an action. But ask your GM if they say its a Use Object then it'll be valid. But currently I think the item itself gives a specific action to use. Due to the wording it gave--unlike some other 'objects that give you an attack'
I believe they wrote that with stuff like Thief Rogue in mind, since they haven't reprinted that with their eratta yet (about the magic item usage being disallowed strictly)
It also won't gain the bonus. "Produce the spell's effects" so arguably that isn't casting the spell. "While holding the object, a creature can take an action to produce the spell’s effect from it, using your spellcasting ability modifier" So you aren't strictly casting the spells, so you won't get the bonus on them. (Neither will the Alchemist)
All that said. Ask your GM, they might read it differently. But from what I've read from others, and just the wording on varoius items compared to the SSI I don't think it counts as Item Use, nor as Casting the spell. Just a specific action given by the item, and producing the spell effect (which i'm not sure how that interacts with counters but i doubt it'll ever be countered)
My Alchemist is getting by this (someday when I get to 11) by having the Homonculus use it. Since the item gives the action, it should be valid for the HS's limited action, since it gives the option when held. Though doesn't work so well for artilirist due to the turret. But could be an option if you're opting for the TEMP hp turret and not always using it.
Haste'll probably be better utalized on another. Unless your GM allows this set up. Which woudln't be too problematic IMO due to relatively high combo cost and low total resources compared to the average day.
Per the wording of Spell-Storing Item: "While holding the object, a creature can take an action to produce the spell’s effect from it, using your spellcasting ability modifier."
The 'Use an Object' action is never mentioned; SSI's 'action' is its own specific thing, not any other in-game action. Nor is activating a magic item typically associated with the 'Use an Object' action.
As a DM, I'd rule against allowing the Haste extra action to trigger Spell-Storing Item. I'd only allow the use of the Arcane Firearm bonus if your SSI is also your Arcane Firearm, but that's generally easy enough to do. I'm not your DM though, so you're better off asking whoever that is how they feel about this. I'd also talk to the DM about your planned Warlock level. Some DMs get squinty-eyed at Pact Magic shenanery, though one-shots are usually more forgiving of weird multiclass dips than long campaigns.
If the SSI is nonmagical, it follows the rules of the Use an Object action and therefore can be used with the haste spell's extra action; if the SSI is magical, it follows the rules of Use a Magic Item action: https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/1230946349824147456?s=20
Cool for J-Craw. Ask your DM anyways. I can say that as a DM myself, I'd call horseshit on that ruling and settle on a single, unified yes-or-no answer for SSI and Haste. Your DM may end up the same way.
My friend is planning a 1 shot for us and a couple of other groups to see how different groups approach it.
Im intending to bring a human artificer artillerist with magic initiate wizard for a few extra utility cantrips and one level in warlock so I can recharge the spell slot for Eldritch Cannon.
In my arcane firearm/arcane focus I was planning to store the spell scorching ray. This would give me 10 uses of the spell by interacting with an object. With that wording, if I Haste myself I could use scorching ray twice in a turn plus the cannon. Plus getting the arcane firearm bonus. Does this seem legal?
AFAIK no. Haste won't give you another blast. " That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action." is haste's wording. The item does give the ability to us an action to produce the spell. But it doesn't label it as a Use an Object action. The item itself gives an action. But ask your GM if they say its a Use Object then it'll be valid. But currently I think the item itself gives a specific action to use. Due to the wording it gave--unlike some other 'objects that give you an attack'
I believe they wrote that with stuff like Thief Rogue in mind, since they haven't reprinted that with their eratta yet (about the magic item usage being disallowed strictly)
It also won't gain the bonus. "Produce the spell's effects" so arguably that isn't casting the spell. "While holding the object, a creature can take an action to produce the spell’s effect from it, using your spellcasting ability modifier" So you aren't strictly casting the spells, so you won't get the bonus on them. (Neither will the Alchemist)
All that said. Ask your GM, they might read it differently. But from what I've read from others, and just the wording on varoius items compared to the SSI I don't think it counts as Item Use, nor as Casting the spell. Just a specific action given by the item, and producing the spell effect (which i'm not sure how that interacts with counters but i doubt it'll ever be countered)
My Alchemist is getting by this (someday when I get to 11) by having the Homonculus use it. Since the item gives the action, it should be valid for the HS's limited action, since it gives the option when held. Though doesn't work so well for artilirist due to the turret. But could be an option if you're opting for the TEMP hp turret and not always using it.
Haste'll probably be better utalized on another. Unless your GM allows this set up. Which woudln't be too problematic IMO due to relatively high combo cost and low total resources compared to the average day.
Per the wording of Spell-Storing Item: "While holding the object, a creature can take an action to produce the spell’s effect from it, using your spellcasting ability modifier."
The 'Use an Object' action is never mentioned; SSI's 'action' is its own specific thing, not any other in-game action. Nor is activating a magic item typically associated with the 'Use an Object' action.
As a DM, I'd rule against allowing the Haste extra action to trigger Spell-Storing Item. I'd only allow the use of the Arcane Firearm bonus if your SSI is also your Arcane Firearm, but that's generally easy enough to do. I'm not your DM though, so you're better off asking whoever that is how they feel about this. I'd also talk to the DM about your planned Warlock level. Some DMs get squinty-eyed at Pact Magic shenanery, though one-shots are usually more forgiving of weird multiclass dips than long campaigns.
Please do not contact or message me.
According to Jeremy Crawford, it depends on if the object made into a Spell Storing Item is magical or nonmagical: https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/1230944710098739200?s=20
If the SSI is nonmagical, it follows the rules of the Use an Object action and therefore can be used with the haste spell's extra action; if the SSI is magical, it follows the rules of Use a Magic Item action: https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/1230946349824147456?s=20
Cool for J-Craw. Ask your DM anyways. I can say that as a DM myself, I'd call horseshit on that ruling and settle on a single, unified yes-or-no answer for SSI and Haste. Your DM may end up the same way.
Please do not contact or message me.
So many bits in different places, I’m glad there’s places to ask. Thanks for the input.