In order to take the Polearm Master bonus action attack you need to take the Attack action and only attack with a qualifying polearm. Two-weapon fighting and other bonus action attacks usually have a similar requirement that you take the Attack action. The bonus action attack granted by Frenzy from the Path of the Berserker subclass however has no such requirement.
As for what counts as "Making an attack" it means any time you make an attack roll, not just attacks made as part of the Attack action. So if you made an Opportunity Attack between the end of your last turn and your current turn then that would be enough to maintain your Rage. Note however that something that requires the target to make a saving throw, like the Path of the Storm Herald's Storm Aura - Sea, does not count as an attack.
So yes, if you have a bonus action attack you can make alongside the Dodge action that would suffice to maintain your rage.
Although PAM does not work, thankfully the Barbarian class has a subclass that can do exactly what you described. The Path of the Battlerager allows you to make a bonus action attack with spiked armor, and unlike PAM and most other b.a. attack abilities, this bonus action attack is not dependent on you taking the Attack action first.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews!Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
According to RAW...
If you take the Dodge action but also make a bonus action attack, for example with the polearm master feat while Raging.
Do would that count as "Making an attack" for keeping your rage up?
In order to take the Polearm Master bonus action attack you need to take the Attack action and only attack with a qualifying polearm. Two-weapon fighting and other bonus action attacks usually have a similar requirement that you take the Attack action. The bonus action attack granted by Frenzy from the Path of the Berserker subclass however has no such requirement.
As for what counts as "Making an attack" it means any time you make an attack roll, not just attacks made as part of the Attack action. So if you made an Opportunity Attack between the end of your last turn and your current turn then that would be enough to maintain your Rage. Note however that something that requires the target to make a saving throw, like the Path of the Storm Herald's Storm Aura - Sea, does not count as an attack.
So yes, if you have a bonus action attack you can make alongside the Dodge action that would suffice to maintain your rage.
Although PAM does not work, thankfully the Barbarian class has a subclass that can do exactly what you described. The Path of the Battlerager allows you to make a bonus action attack with spiked armor, and unlike PAM and most other b.a. attack abilities, this bonus action attack is not dependent on you taking the Attack action first.
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews! Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!