If you use the tail can you use it for opportunity atks at a 10ft reach, the reach is 10ft and its a part of your body so I feel like it should work but idk
You absolutely can, it would follow the same rules for Opportunity Attacks as any other Reach weapon, so the target would have to be leaving the tail's melee range before you can make an Opportunity Attack with it.
It just made me think unless you take a feat to increase your range of atk from 5 to 10 you can only make opportunity atks within 5 ft. Otherwise why couldn't you use it to make opportunity atks in the first place since when you hold that weapon isn't your atk range already 10 ft due to the weapon anyway
That's why the section of the PHB/Basic Rules about opportunity attacks never mentions a set distance, the trigger is "when they leave your reach", however far that is. If you're ever unsure about how one of the rules works, the Sage Advice Compendium is a good resource, it contains answers to common rules questions. There's even a section specifically about Opportunity Attacks with Reach weapons.
If you use the tail can you use it for opportunity atks at a 10ft reach, the reach is 10ft and its a part of your body so I feel like it should work but idk
You absolutely can, it would follow the same rules for Opportunity Attacks as any other Reach weapon, so the target would have to be leaving the tail's melee range before you can make an Opportunity Attack with it.
thanks, i thought so but due to the polearm master feat it made me uncertain
What part of the Polearm Master feat made you uncertain?
other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter the reach you have with that weapon.
The Polearm Master feat only works with specific weapons, and the Beast's tail isn't one of them. So nothing in the feat changes how the tail works.
It just made me think unless you take a feat to increase your range of atk from 5 to 10 you can only make opportunity atks within 5 ft. Otherwise why couldn't you use it to make opportunity atks in the first place since when you hold that weapon isn't your atk range already 10 ft due to the weapon anyway
That's why the section of the PHB/Basic Rules about opportunity attacks never mentions a set distance, the trigger is "when they leave your reach", however far that is. If you're ever unsure about how one of the rules works, the Sage Advice Compendium is a good resource, it contains answers to common rules questions. There's even a section specifically about Opportunity Attacks with Reach weapons.
ok thank you