Just one of those. In your example, your barbarian would keep his rage just fine.
if your turn ends and you haven’t attacked a hostile creature since your last turn or taken damage since then.
Scenario 1: Just as you describe, you attack (hitting doesnt matter, just so long as you made the attack) and take no damage, Rage is maintained.
Scenario 2: Barbarian uses turn to pour a healing potion into an ally's mouth (no attack), gets attacked & dealt damage by an enemy. Rage is maintained.
Scenario 3: Barbarian uses turn to pour healing potion into an ally's mouth (no attack). Hostile creature makes an attack at you but does not hit, your barbarian takes no damage. Rage is NOT maintained.
Some DM's may rule that because someone made an attack at you, you can keep your rage, but as its described you have to either attack or take damage to maintain it.
After level 15, Rage can end only after a minute (10 rounds) or if you fall unconscious, but I figure that's not the case in your questioning :p
One thing to remember... you only need to take damage. It doesn't need to come from the enemy. So one of your allies could walk up and slap you in the face for 1 damage just to keep it going.
He could always cut himself on his sword to maintain rage as well. "By Crom, I swear this day is your last!" and draws his blade against his hand.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
No he said that for attack, for damage he said further below a Barbarian could damage itself
I was reading it a certain way, but I believe you are correct.
There is no qualifier to who or what caused the damage, only that you took any.
"Keep in mind that, no matter how much you might refuse to believe it, there is no RAW to suggest you can self inflict damage for free in any way. The only allowed mechanics to attack yourself are by making an actual roll, which means you're sacrificing an attack and you could fail to "hit" (read: meaningfully hurt) yourself. It's not that easy to hurt yourself."
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
‘A’OHE PU’U KI’EKI’E KE HO’A’O ‘IA E PI’I – (No cliff is so tall it cannot be climbed.)
All of my Barbs carry a brace of Hand Axes. You have to either take damage or make an attack. There is nothing that says that the attack has to HIT anything. You can throw a handaxe up to 60'. That's far enough to cover most combats. If you're not taking any damage in a turn, take your full Movement toward an enemy and whip an axe at them.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
This may be a dumb question, but my English not perfect and I'm not sure if I'm understanding it correctly:
To maintain rage the barbarian needs to attack AND take damage? Or just one of those?
Example: my barbarian is not taking any damage but he is attacking every round: does he continue raging?
Just one of those. In your example, your barbarian would keep his rage just fine.
Scenario 1: Just as you describe, you attack (hitting doesnt matter, just so long as you made the attack) and take no damage, Rage is maintained.
Scenario 2: Barbarian uses turn to pour a healing potion into an ally's mouth (no attack), gets attacked & dealt damage by an enemy. Rage is maintained.
Scenario 3: Barbarian uses turn to pour healing potion into an ally's mouth (no attack). Hostile creature makes an attack at you but does not hit, your barbarian takes no damage. Rage is NOT maintained.
Some DM's may rule that because someone made an attack at you, you can keep your rage, but as its described you have to either attack or take damage to maintain it.
After level 15, Rage can end only after a minute (10 rounds) or if you fall unconscious, but I figure that's not the case in your questioning :p
One thing to remember... you only need to take damage. It doesn't need to come from the enemy. So one of your allies could walk up and slap you in the face for 1 damage just to keep it going.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
He could always cut himself on his sword to maintain rage as well. "By Crom, I swear this day is your last!" and draws his blade against his hand.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
Jeremy Crawford has stated that it has to be a hostile creature doing the damage in order to keep rage going, an ally would not count. https://www.sageadvice.eu/can-a-barbarian-hit-himself-to-keep-his-rage-going/
‘A’OHE PU’U KI’EKI’E KE HO’A’O ‘IA E PI’I – (No cliff is so tall it cannot be climbed.)
No he said that for attack, for damage he said further below a Barbarian could damage itself
I was reading it a certain way, but I believe you are correct.
There is no qualifier to who or what caused the damage, only that you took any.
‘A’OHE PU’U KI’EKI’E KE HO’A’O ‘IA E PI’I – (No cliff is so tall it cannot be climbed.)
All of my Barbs carry a brace of Hand Axes. You have to either take damage or make an attack. There is nothing that says that the attack has to HIT anything. You can throw a handaxe up to 60'. That's far enough to cover most combats. If you're not taking any damage in a turn, take your full Movement toward an enemy and whip an axe at them.