To clarify, the reaction from the tail to give an increase to AC is for that one single attack only. Not to like end of turn or something.
Text:
Tail. You grow a lashing, spiny tail, which deals 1d8 piercing damage on a hit and has the reach property. If a creature you can see within 10 feet of you hits you with an attack roll, you can use your reaction to swipe your tail and roll a d8, applying a bonus to your AC equal to the number rolled, potentially causing the attack to miss you.
Yes it is only to the one attack. It does not function like the shield spell.
BUT, you get to wait to see if they hit you. You will never waste it on a hit that would already have missed, or on a crit that you can't avoid anyways. I really like this ability in the context of a barbarian. Really cool tool.
Drawing attention to "If a creature you can see within 10 feet of you hits you with an attack roll", nothing is explicitly stated to draw a distinction between melee or spell attack, or to exclude any type of attack that uses an attack roll to resolve success. The PHB also does not draw a distinction, as the Making an Attack section wraps spell attacks as a component of the attack action. So, any spell requiring an attack roll should be governed by this ability's description, provided it was cast within 10 feet of the barbarian.
The theatre of mind entertains us with a PoTB barbarian using its tail to swat aside a firebolt cast by a wizard standing too close for his own good.
It might be a good conversation to ponder if spells like Steel Wind Strike, with its range of 30 feet, falls within this ability's interpretation, given that an attack roll is required, and conventions such as reach must be observed.
Gonna bring up the fact its also largely limitless. Outside of the time you spend in rage being a limiting factor its already eating your reaction, but that resource likely wasn't being spent anywhere outside of AoOs and there's no spell requirement, no slots, etc: the only limiting factor is the d8 but a d8 added to AC is nothing to sneeze at.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"I once knew this fella, Aasimar raised in the Underdark. Was like a brother to me. When he escaped we couldn't take much with us. Poor, emaciated husks of the living we were. 'ts okay though. We survived and made our ways. I'll never forget the way the people from my home looked at us when we walked in the archway. Though, I'm frighteningly certain the feelings they would have, had they but the opportunity ta see us leave." --Manolovo the Traitor, Memoirs of a Scoundrel
do i have to be raged before using this reaction or does it work as a reaction anthen if im raged i can also attack with it ??????
To quote the text:
"When you enter your rage, you can transform, revealing the bestial power within you. Until the rage ends, you manifest a natural weapon. It counts as a simple melee weapon for you, and you add your Strength modifier to the attack and damage rolls when you attack with it, as normal. You choose the weapon’s form each time you rage:"
The two key phrases there being "When you enter your rage" and "Until the rage ends". The body mod is only active during Rage. And nothing about using the tail's reaction prevents you from using it to attack on a prior or successive turn. Same way that using your sword to make an Opportunity Attack doesn't prevent you from using that same sword to attack on your turn.
The rules for each class and the rules for combat will go over all of this. Go over the general rules involving attacks, and then remember that unless a more specific rule(like the rules for the tail) explicitly do something different from the general rules, the general rules still apply.
Basically what i understand, is that you can, and basically, have to do this Reaction thing every turn. So every turn for 1 incoming attack your AC is higher, but resets to default right after. But at least you can decide whether tonuse it or not and on which incoming attack to use it. Right?
As long as the in coming attack is an attack roll and not a save the tails effect of adding to the Armor Class can be used.
It can be used anytime you have a reaction available and would be hit with an attack while you are currently in rage with the tail selected as the modification.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"I once knew this fella, Aasimar raised in the Underdark. Was like a brother to me. When he escaped we couldn't take much with us. Poor, emaciated husks of the living we were. 'ts okay though. We survived and made our ways. I'll never forget the way the people from my home looked at us when we walked in the archway. Though, I'm frighteningly certain the feelings they would have, had they but the opportunity ta see us leave." --Manolovo the Traitor, Memoirs of a Scoundrel
If I attack using the tail, is it a full action? A bonus action? Do I use strength plus my proficiency bonus to the attack roll? Can I attack with it twice at 5th level? The rules are pretty vague.
If I attack using the tail, is it a full action? A bonus action? Do I use strength plus my proficiency bonus to the attack roll? Can I attack with it twice at 5th level? The rules are pretty vague.
It counts as an attack like any other weapon, subject to the constraints of the number of attacks your level allows. It is an action, strength based (not finesse, to further clarify), and you are proficient in its use.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
To clarify, the reaction from the tail to give an increase to AC is for that one single attack only. Not to like end of turn or something.
Text:
Tail. You grow a lashing, spiny tail, which deals 1d8 piercing damage on a hit and has the reach property. If a creature you can see within 10 feet of you hits you with an attack roll, you can use your reaction to swipe your tail and roll a d8, applying a bonus to your AC equal to the number rolled, potentially causing the attack to miss you.
Yes it is only to the one attack. It does not function like the shield spell.
BUT, you get to wait to see if they hit you. You will never waste it on a hit that would already have missed, or on a crit that you can't avoid anyways. I really like this ability in the context of a barbarian. Really cool tool.
Drawing attention to "If a creature you can see within 10 feet of you hits you with an attack roll", nothing is explicitly stated to draw a distinction between melee or spell attack, or to exclude any type of attack that uses an attack roll to resolve success. The PHB also does not draw a distinction, as the Making an Attack section wraps spell attacks as a component of the attack action. So, any spell requiring an attack roll should be governed by this ability's description, provided it was cast within 10 feet of the barbarian.
The theatre of mind entertains us with a PoTB barbarian using its tail to swat aside a firebolt cast by a wizard standing too close for his own good.
It might be a good conversation to ponder if spells like Steel Wind Strike, with its range of 30 feet, falls within this ability's interpretation, given that an attack roll is required, and conventions such as reach must be observed.
Gonna bring up the fact its also largely limitless. Outside of the time you spend in rage being a limiting factor its already eating your reaction, but that resource likely wasn't being spent anywhere outside of AoOs and there's no spell requirement, no slots, etc: the only limiting factor is the d8 but a d8 added to AC is nothing to sneeze at.
"I once knew this fella, Aasimar raised in the Underdark. Was like a brother to me. When he escaped we couldn't take much with us. Poor, emaciated husks of the living we were. 'ts okay though. We survived and made our ways. I'll never forget the way the people from my home looked at us when we walked in the archway. Though, I'm frighteningly certain the feelings they would have, had they but the opportunity ta see us leave." --Manolovo the Traitor, Memoirs of a Scoundrel
do i have to be raged before using this reaction or does it work as a reaction anthen if im raged i can also attack with it ??????
You don't have the tail when you aren't raged so you can't use the reaction. You can attack with it and still use the reaction.
To quote the text:
"When you enter your rage, you can transform, revealing the bestial power within you. Until the rage ends, you manifest a natural weapon. It counts as a simple melee weapon for you, and you add your Strength modifier to the attack and damage rolls when you attack with it, as normal. You choose the weapon’s form each time you rage:"
The two key phrases there being "When you enter your rage" and "Until the rage ends". The body mod is only active during Rage. And nothing about using the tail's reaction prevents you from using it to attack on a prior or successive turn. Same way that using your sword to make an Opportunity Attack doesn't prevent you from using that same sword to attack on your turn.
The rules for each class and the rules for combat will go over all of this. Go over the general rules involving attacks, and then remember that unless a more specific rule(like the rules for the tail) explicitly do something different from the general rules, the general rules still apply.
Basically what i understand, is that you can, and basically, have to do this Reaction thing every turn. So every turn for 1 incoming attack your AC is higher, but resets to default right after. But at least you can decide whether tonuse it or not and on which incoming attack to use it. Right?
As long as the in coming attack is an attack roll and not a save the tails effect of adding to the Armor Class can be used.
It can be used anytime you have a reaction available and would be hit with an attack while you are currently in rage with the tail selected as the modification.
"I once knew this fella, Aasimar raised in the Underdark. Was like a brother to me. When he escaped we couldn't take much with us. Poor, emaciated husks of the living we were. 'ts okay though. We survived and made our ways. I'll never forget the way the people from my home looked at us when we walked in the archway. Though, I'm frighteningly certain the feelings they would have, had they but the opportunity ta see us leave." --Manolovo the Traitor, Memoirs of a Scoundrel
If I attack using the tail, is it a full action? A bonus action? Do I use strength plus my proficiency bonus to the attack roll? Can I attack with it twice at 5th level? The rules are pretty vague.
It counts as an attack like any other weapon, subject to the constraints of the number of attacks your level allows. It is an action, strength based (not finesse, to further clarify), and you are proficient in its use.