In addition, immediately after you cast an Enchantment or Illusion spell using a spell slot, you can cause a creature you can see within 60 feet of yourself to make a Wisdom saving throw against your spell save DC. On a failed save, the target has the Charmed or Frightened condition (your choice) for 1 minute. The target repeats the save at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success.
It doesn't say anything about your turn, so is there any reason to believe I cannot cast silvery barbs (enchantment spell) as a reaction on someone else's turn, to charm/fear an enemy? I'm pretty sure I'm not missing anything, but would like to confirm.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
The triggering spell does have to be cast using a spell slot, so you can't use it with a free casting you get from something like Magic Initiate, but I see no reason it has to be on your turn.
Ok cool, I was worried about missing another rule, but I was pretty sure that I'd read it correctly. It's nice to get a bit of confirmation that I hadn't missed something obvious.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
It's a fairly niche thing, which is probably why there's no explicit guidance about it in the rules. I think the only other spell that it would come up with is Gift of Gab from Acquisitions Incorporated.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Glamour's third level feature states:
In addition, immediately after you cast an Enchantment or Illusion spell using a spell slot, you can cause a creature you can see within 60 feet of yourself to make a Wisdom saving throw against your spell save DC. On a failed save, the target has the Charmed or Frightened condition (your choice) for 1 minute. The target repeats the save at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success.
It doesn't say anything about your turn, so is there any reason to believe I cannot cast silvery barbs (enchantment spell) as a reaction on someone else's turn, to charm/fear an enemy? I'm pretty sure I'm not missing anything, but would like to confirm.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
Seems perfectly valid to me.
The triggering spell does have to be cast using a spell slot, so you can't use it with a free casting you get from something like Magic Initiate, but I see no reason it has to be on your turn.
pronouns: he/she/they
Ok cool, I was worried about missing another rule, but I was pretty sure that I'd read it correctly. It's nice to get a bit of confirmation that I hadn't missed something obvious.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
It's a fairly niche thing, which is probably why there's no explicit guidance about it in the rules. I think the only other spell that it would come up with is Gift of Gab from Acquisitions Incorporated.
pronouns: he/she/they